Many of the top Late Model competitors in the Southeast will go to Montgomery Motor Speedway on Saturday, March 2.  Before they “Hunt for the Bear,” check out our statistical preview of the race.


2: Keep an eye on the the two car of John Bolen.  He was second in the Alabama 200 last year and he was the track champion in the Show Me the Money Series.


4: Jackson Boone finished off last season with a fourth-place run at Montgomery Motor Speedway in the Alabama 200.


6: The six race Show Me the Money Series for the Pro Late Models starts this year with the Alabama 200.  Last year John Bolen became the first three-time champion of the series.


Past Show Me the Money Champions

2018 John Bolen

2017 Casey Roderick

2016 Casey Roderick

2015 Bret Holmes

2014 John Bolen

2013 Justin South

2012 Hunter Robbins

2011 Hunter Robbins

2010 John Bolen

2009 Augie Grill


Show Me the Money (PLM) Wins 

Augie Grill 14

Casey Roderick 11

Hunter Robbins 7

Justin South 5

Chase Elliott 3

Bret Holmes 2

Mason Massey 2

John Bolen 2

Mike Garvey 2

Jason Young 2

Bobby Knox Jr 1

RS Senter 1

Giovanni Bromante 1

Connor Okrzesik 1


9: A total of nine of the last 10 Show Me the Money championships will be represented in the Alabama 200.


10: Former Alabama 200 winner Hunter Robbins will drive the 10 ride this weekend.  The number is normally driven by his wife Johanna Long.


26: Bubba Pollard is scheduled to make his first Alabama 200 start in since 2015.  Pollard has never won this event, which is something you can’t say about many events in the south.


37: Kaden Honeycutt returns to Montgomery Motor Speedway after making his first start in the Snowball Derby last December.  Honeycutt is expected to run a mix of ARCA, Super Late Models and Pro Late Models.


81: Colby Howard might feel a little pressure on him as he climbs into the ride that Giovanni Bromante won with last season.  Howard will be making his first start at Montgomery.


112: Augie Grill is a four-time winner of the Alabama 200 and he posted a strong third-place run a year ago.  If he runs, which he’s normally a late entry, he’ll be a contender.


200: The Alabama 200 is a 200-lap race for Pro Late Models.  Over the years it has been a Super Late Model race, but now it’s returned to a Pro Late Model show to tie into the track’s Show Me The Money Series.


Let’s Play Poker:  If you had to play poker with the numbers on the pre-race entry list you could have three of a kind with the 14’s and the 21’s.  Sometimes we wish people would realize there are other numbers to pick.  Just kidding.


Owner/Driver Battle: Casey Roderick is seeking his third-straight Alabama 200 for car owner Ronnie Sanders. They each have two as drivers, but a third for Roderick would be one more then Sanders.


Deep History: Way back in 1979 Ronnie Sanders won this race for a second time, last year he won it for the second time as an owner.  The day Sanders won he beat out Tad Merriman, Red Farmer, Junior Niedecken and Randy Couch.


Entry List:

07 Blake Ferguson

09 Daniel Bolden

1 Michael House

2 John Bolen

2 Jeff Dawkins

4M Kyle McCallum

5 Blaise Rutherford

7 Jackson Boone

8x Aiden Eldridge

9 Michel Bolden

10 Hunter Robbins

11 Stacey Crain

11 JoJo Wilkinson

14 Chris Davidson

14 Ty Porter

14 Connor Okrezesik

18 Casey Roderick

21 Ryan Herbert

21 Ryan Paul

21 Jason Furrow

26 Bubba Pollard

32 Nick Jenkins

35 Jake Garcia

37 Kaden Honeycutt

43 Justin South

51 Perry Patino

62 William Hale

81 Colby Howard

112 Augie Grill


Alabama 200 Past Winners 

2018 Casey Roderick

2017 Casey Roderick

2016Donnie Wilson

2015 Chase Elliott

2014 Anderson Bowen

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Mason Massey

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Augie Grill

2009 Augie Grill

2008 Augie Grill

2007 Casey Smith

2005 Jason Hogan, Ted Musgrave Jr.

2004 Hunter Robbins

2000 Gary Helton

1999 Gary Jones

1996 Dave Mader III

1995 Junior Niedecken

1994 Eddie Mercer

1993 Bobby Gill

1992 Mike Harmon

1991 Clay Brown

1985 Mike Alexander

1984 Wayne Newton

1983 Mike Oliver

1982 Donnie Allison

1979 Ronnie Sanders

1978 Jody Ridley

1976 Ronnie Sanders

1975 Buck Simmons

1974 Jody Ridley

1973 Neil Bonnett

1972 Ed Howe

1971 Alton Jones

1970 Red Farmer

1969 Red Farmer

1968 Bobby Allison

1967 Richard Petty

1966 No Info

1965 Dave Mader

1964 Joe Lee Johnson

1963 Friday Hassler

1962 Bobby Allison

1961 Red Farmer

1960 Crash Bond


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:


By the Numbers: Looking Ahead to the Alabama 200