By the Numbers: A Look at the 52nd Snowball Derby 

With the 52nd Annual Snowball Derby presented by BJ’s Wholesale Club now in the record books, we can look back and reflect on the event.  “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor glances at some of the numbers that stand out from this year’s race.


0: The number of laps Travis Braden led in the Snowball Derby.  This has happened before, as Erik Jones won following a disqualification in 2013 after having not led any laps that year.


1: Hunter Robbins has completed all but one lap in his last five Snowball Derby runs.  He got his fourth top 10 finish on Monday.


1: Travis Braden became the first driver to win the race from the state of West Virginia.


2: The Kyle Busch Motorsports cars were seeking their third-straight Snowball Derby win, which has never been done by any chassis since the 70s.  We will have to wait again to see if a three-peat is possible at the Derby.


4: Cole Butcher became the fourth driver to start on the outside of the front row in consecutive years. Darrell Brown did it in 1999 and 2000, Jeff Purvis did it in 1995 and 1996, and Neil Bennett did it in 1973 and 1974.


4: Casey Roderick was able to post his fourth-career top 10 run this year despite damage from a late-race crash.


4: Chandler Smith is now four-for-four on finishes in the top 10. Smith has completed every lap he has run in the Snowball Derby.


5: All of the top five finishers scored their best runs ever in the Snowball Derby, with Travis Braden winning in his first start.


7: Former Snowball Derby winner Ricky Turner logged seven top 10 finishes this decade with three different drivers.  Jake Garcia was his shoe this year and posted a second-place run in his first Derby.


11: There were 11 rookies in the race, with Travis Braden finishing first to be the top rookie. Jake Garcia was second in his first Snowball run.


14: Augie Grill made the race one year after an unthinkable DNQ that broke his streak of connective races. Grill made his 14th start, but for only the sixth time in his career he made it past lap 200.


30: Braden’s win marks the first time the victor has come from the 30th starting spot.


33: David Rogers started his record-breaking 33rd Snowball Derby on Monday. Rogers joked that he’s been to more than he’s made. His 33rd start passes Red Farmer, who started the first 32 in a row.


140: Unofficially, Ty Majeski led 140 laps to push his career lap leading total to 330 laps without a win in the Snowball Derby.


319: Cautions extended the race to 319 laps making it the third longest Derby of the decade. The traditional length is 300 laps.


$25,000: Travis Braden pocketed a big $25,000 check for winning the Snowball Derby.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: A Look at the 52nd Snowball Derby