The most prestigious Super Late Model race in America will be held Sunday afternoon at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Florida. We take a look at the race in the edition of “By the Numbers” on


0: The number of drivers who have swept both the Snowball Derby and the Snowflake 100 in the same weekend. The closest to do it was Augie Grill in 2007 as he finished third in that year’s Snowflake before winning the Derby the next day. Chase Elliott won the Snowflake 100 and the Derby in 2013, but he was later disqualified from the Derby in post-race technical inspection.


2: Rich Bickle, Butch Miller, Jeff Purvis, Darrell Waltrip, Eddie Mercer, Rick Crawford and Jody Ridley all have something in common. They are all former Snowball Derby winners, but they also all had to finish second in the big race before they won it. Could two-time runner-up Jeff Choquette join that list this year?


4: The number of all-time Snowball Derby pole awards won by Eddie Mercer. He has the most of any driver.


5: The number of times Rich Bickle, Jr. has visited victory lane at the Snowball Derby. He holds the record for most Snowball Derby wins, as he has won five times in 11 starts. He holds a nice .454 batting average at the Pensacola half-mile oval.


16.120: The time of 16.120 is the pole qualifying record for the Snowball Derby.  It was set by Ty Majeski in 2015.


30: Only the top 30 drivers will be locked in after Friday night’s qualifying session.


33: David Rogers aims to make the Snowball Derby for the 33rd time, which would give him the record for most starts in the race.  The current record set by Red Farmer consisted of 32 consecutive starts, a record that will be difficult to top.


37: The maximum starting field for the Snowball Derby will be 37 with 30 drivers getting in on time with four coming from the last chance race, two provisionals and a past champions spot.


51: The only number you need to know when it comes to coverage of the Snowball Derby. is the online home for all things Snowball Derby.


51: This will be the 51st running of the Snowball Derby.


92: The six most experienced drivers in the field include David Rogers, Casey Smith, Augie Grill, Grant Enfinger, Chris Davidson and Bubba Pollard. All of these drivers have made at least 10 starts and have 92 total starts combined.


156: Bubba Pollard was the dominate man a year ago as he led a race high 156 laps before finishing third. Pollard has now led the race in five different years for a total of 304 laps.


300: The race is scheduled to consist of 300 laps, but it has gone beyond that distance before.  The record is 336 laps in 1996.


653: Total number of drivers who have competed in the Snowball Derby.


752: Eddie Mercer has led the most laps in the Snowball Derby with 752.  That’s the length of two full Snowball Derby’s and some change.


1968: The first Snowball Derby was run back in 1968.  The race was only 100 laps that year, but it laid the ground work for the future.


$25,000: The Snowball Derby pays $25,000 to the winner.


13,316: The total number of laps completed at the Snowball Derby from 1968 to 2017.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: A Look at the 51st Annual Snowball Derby