By the Numbers: A Look at the 2019 TUNDRA Season

The 2019 season kicks off Saturday for the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series at Wisconsin International Raceway.  To prepare for the upcoming season of racing, “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes us By the Numbers into the year ahead and the seasons past in the series’ history.


0: Despite not having a victory in 2018, Casey Johnson was able to win the series title with strong consistent runs.  He has only one win since the seasonal finale at Jefferson Speedway in 2016.


2: Each of the last two seasons have featured six races and six different winners.


2: Casey Johnson earned his second championship in the TUNDRA Series, behind only Dalton Zehr, who has three.


2: State Park Speedway track ace Mark Mackesy has won two of the four races run at State Park. He will look for his third win this year.


6: The Series will have six races again in 2019 with stops at Wisconsin Int’l Raceway, Marshfield Speedway, Dells Raceway Park, Jefferson Speedway, State Park Speedway, and the season finale at Golden Sands Speedway.


11: Dalton Zehr is the all-time Series feature winner with 11 wins in the nine year series history.


16: Dells Raceway Park has hosted 16 races in the TUNDRA Series.


38: A total of 38 cars are entered for this weekend’s race, representing Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan and Minnesota.


47: A total of 47 different drivers ran the series in 2018.


48: There have been 48 TUNDRA Series races since the series originated back in 2011.


50: The season opening race will be 50 laps at Wisconsin International Raceway.


Past Champions 

2018 Casey Johnson

2017 Dalton Zehr

2016 Casey Johnson

2015 Dalton Zehr

2014 Dalton Zehr

2013 Nick Panitzke

2012 Dennis Prunty

2011 Frank Kreyer


TUNDRA Round One Entry List 

00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT]

07 – Alex Seidl, Appleton, Wis.

1 – Jesse Oudenhoven, Kaukauna, Wis.

2 – Lowell Bennett, Neenah, Wis.

2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT]

5 – John Beale, Verona, Wis. [TT]

5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT]

8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT]

10 – Andy Monday, Appleton, Wis.

11 – Alex Prunty, Lomira, Wis.

11 – Bobby Kendall, Monello, Wis.

15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT]

16 – Luke Westenberg, Palmyra, Wis. [TT]

18 – Cameron Clifford, Norway, Mich. [TT][R]

20 – Derek Doerr, Watertown, Wis. [TT][R]

25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT]

28 – Corey Manders, Hilbert, Wis.

32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT]

32 – Scott Dunning, Lake in the Hills, Ill. [TT][R]

33 – Kevin Knuese, Stoughton, Wis. [TT][R]

34 – Maxwell Schultz, Reedsville, Wis.

35 – Travis Dassow, West Bend, Wis.

36 – Tim Springstroh, Freedom, Wis.

38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT]

42 – Dennis Prunty, Knowles, Wis. [TT]

44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT]

44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT]

51 – Dennis Schmidt, Juneau, Wis. [TT]

51 – Steve Apel, Slinger, Wis. [TT]

52 – Brent Stelka, Freedom, Wis. [TT]

54 – Rich Schumann, Jr., Portage, Wis, [TT]

63 – Gary Lamonte, West Allis, Wis.

66 – Alex Stumpf, Brillion, Wis.

66 – Sydney Wonderling, Glendale Heights, Ill. [TT]

75 – Joel Thiesen, Maple Grove, Minn. [TT]

87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT]

97 – Robbie Iverson, Escanaba, Mich.

99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT]


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: TUNDRA

By the Numbers: A Look at the 2019 TUNDRA Season