The fifth season for the Championship Auto Racing Series (CARS Tour) gets underway this Saturday with a pair of $10,000-to-win races at Southern National Motorsports Park (NC).  To prepare for the season, we take a look at both the Late Model Stock Car and Super Late Model circuits in this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.


CARS Tour Late Model Stock Cars

3: Deac McCaskill has set fast time for the CARS Tour at Southern National in three of the previous four races.


3.73: Josh Berry’s average starting spot in CARS Tour events is 3.73.  In 2018, he started outside the top 10 only one time.


12: Chances are good one of these members of the “Touring 12” will be your 2019 CARS Tour Late Model Stock Car champion: Josh Berry, Adam Lemke, Layne Riggs, Trevor Ward, Brandon Pierce, Bobby McCarty, Craig Moore, Mini Tyrell, Ronald Hill, Bradley McCaskill, Deac McCaskill and Justin Carroll.


14: Josh Berry has the most wins in series history with 14.  His wins have come at eight different race tracks.


36: Deac McCaskill is the all-time series leader in top 10 finishes.  He has 36 in 44 starts.


44: There have been 44 races for the CARS Tour Late Model Stock Cars since its inception.


Repeat: The last three champions are all in the mix to win what could be a second title on the CARS Tour.  It’s easier said than done as very few people predicted that Bobby McCarty would de-throne Josh Berry for the crown last year.  What will happen this year?


Credit is Due: We talk about the heavy hitters a lot, but how about Ronald Hill who has 37 starts in the series and has posted 12 top 10 finishes.  Hill is anything but a field filler as he has only failed to finish in nine of his 37 starts.


CARS Tour Late Model Stock Champions 

2018 Bobby McCarty

2017 Josh Berry

2016 Deac McCaskill

2015 Brayton Haws


CARS LMSC Southern National Winners

Deac McCaskill 2

Todd Gilliland 1

Josh Berry 1


CARS Tour Super Late Models

6: Raphael Lessard and Brandon Setzer have the most career CARS Tour Super Late Model wins as they are tied with six wins apiece.


7: There were seven different winners in eight races last season.  Bubba Pollard was the only repeat winner as he took home two wins.


18: There have been 18 different Super Late Model winners in CARS Tour history. A full list of winners can be seen below.


SLM Winners

Brandon Setzer 6

Raphael Lessard 6

Christopher Bell 4

Matt Craig 3

Bubba Pollard 3

Steve Wallace 2

Stephen Nasse 2

Cole Timm 2

Cole Rosue 2

Quin Houff 2

Chris Dilbeck 1

Corey Hiem 1

Casey Roderick 1

Jeff Fultz 1

Darrell Wallace Jr. 1

Harrison Burton 1

Zane Smith 1

William Byron 1

Tate Fogleman 1

Kyle Plott 1


34: Brandon Setzer has 33 career starts on the CARS Tour.  After finishing second in the point standings, many wonder if this will be a championship year for him.


42: There have been 42 previous CARS Tour Super Late Model events heading into the 2019 season.


51: The five championships have been decided by a total of 51 points over the first five years.  There have been no repeat champions.


Strong Field: A super strong entry list for Southern National contains several Super Late Model winners and champions highlighted by Bubba Pollard, Stephen Nasse, Matt Craig, Steve Wallace, Preston Peltier and Brandon Setzer.


Lead the Way: Despite only nine starts, Bubba Pollard has led the fourth most laps in series history. He led 327 to Brandon Setzer’s 680.


CARS Tour Super Late Model Champions 

2018 Jared Fryar

2017 Cole Rouse

2016 Raphael Lessard

2015 Cole Timm


CARS Tour SLM Southern National Winners

Quin Houff 1

Cole Timm 1

Brandon Setzer 1

Raphael Lessard 1


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: A Look at the 2019 CARS Tour Season