By the Numbers: 69th Annual Race of Champions at Lake Erie

The 69th Annual Race of Champions will be contested this weekend at Lake Erie Speedway (PA), continuing one of the most storied traditions in Modified racing.  Before the ground-pounders take to the track, our “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes you By the Numbers through this historic short-track showdown.


2: Only two points separate Andy Jankowiak and Patrick Emerling in the battle for the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series title.  This will be the race within the race as both drivers have three wins, and a fourth would likely bring them a championship. Emerling could be winning his second title, while Jankowiak would be gaining his first.


3: Who is the only driver to be in the top 10 for all four of Matt Hirschman’s recent wins at the Race of Champions? The No. 3 car of Daren Scherer. In fact, he’s been 10th or better for seven years straight and 11 times in his 15 starts.


5: Dutch Hoag was one of the best there was in the Race of Champions, but his five wins all came on the dirt.  He won five times in 15 starts. He also had three other finishes in the top three.


6: What else can we say about Matt Hirschman?  He’s won six of the last seven Race of Champion events. Those six wins have come at three different tracks and along the way he’s posted three other podium finishes.


13: Chuck Hossfeld leads all active drivers with 13 top 10 runs in the Race of Champions.


22: The driver in the No. 22 car is Chuck Hossfeld.  The four-time RoC Champion is calling it a career at the end of the season.  Hossfeld is a former winner of this event and pretty much anything he has even gotten into. Congrats on a great career, Hot Shoe.


60: In 1977 and 1979, the Race of Champions started 60 cars in the main event.  It was not uncommon in the 80’s to see as many as 50 cars start the main race.


69: This will be the 69th year for the Race of Champions, making it one of the longest continuing races in the country, second to only the Indianapolis 500.


250: The feature event will be 250 laps.


1951: This was the first year the race was run back in 1951.


Race of Champions Winners:

ROC at Lake Erie

2018 Matt Hirschman

2017 Matt Hirschman

ROC at Oswego 

2016 Matt Hirschman


ROC at Chemung  

2015 Matt Hirschman


ROC at Oswego

2014 Chuck Hossfeld

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Matt Hirschman

2011 Zane Zeiner

2010 Tony Hirschman

2009 Billy Putney

2008 Tony Hirschman

2007 Jan Leaty

2006 TJ Potrzebowski

2005 Chuck Hossfeld

2004 Eric Beers

2003 Sege Fidanza

2002 Tim Mangus

2001 George Kent

2000 George Kent

1999 Chuck Hossfeld

1998 Sege Fidanza

1997 Tony Hirschman

1996 Jan Leaty


Run at Flemington 

1995 John Blewett III

1994 Tony Siscone

1993 Bill Pauch

1992 Lenny Boyd


Run at Pocono 

1991 Satch Worley

1990 Mike Stefanik

1989 Tony Hirschman

1988 Reggie Ruggiero

1987 George Brunnhoelzl

1986 George Kent

1985 Brett Bodine

1984 Brian Ross

1983 Jimmy Spencer

1982 Greg Sacks

1981 George Kent

1980 Richie Evans

1979 Richie Evans (Big Track)

1978 Geoff Bodine (Big Track)

1977 Maynard Troyer (Big Track)


Run at Trenton 

1976 Maynard Troyer

1975 Ray Hendrick

1974 Fred DeSarro

1973 Richie Evans

1972 Geoff Bodine


Run at Langhorne

1971 Roger Treichler

1970 Mev Treichler

1969 Ray Hendrick

1968 Dutch Hoag

1967 Dutch Hoag

1966 Will Cagle

1965 Bill Slater


Run at Langhorne on Dirt 

1964 Freddy Adams

1963 Dutch Hoag

1962 Frankie Schneider

1961 Freddy Adams

1960 Dutch Hoag

1959 Jim Delaney

1958 Jim Delaney

1957 Glenn Guthrie

1956 Dutch Hoag

1955 Pete Corey

1954 Frankie Schneider

1953 Ted Swaim

1952 Jim Delaney

1951 Hully Bunn


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: photo

By the Numbers: 69th Annual Race of Champions at Lake Erie