Super Late Model stars from the Northwest region and beyond will make their way to Monroe, Washington’s Evergreen Speedway this weekend for the 5th annual Summer Showdown.  The $25,000-to-win race has become one of the most prestigious Super Late Model events on the West Coast.  Our resident “Stat Boy,” Elgin Traylor, takes a look at the history of the race “By the Numbers.”


00: Multi-time track champion Naima Lang has posted a pair of top-five runs in the Summer Showdown, but nothing more in four starts.


5: This will be the fifth annual Summer Showdown at Evergreen Speedway (WA).  The track has done an amazing job marketing this event to to give it national exposure.


pfc-anim15: For the local fans, there will be a total of five support races, two on Friday night and three on Saturday.


32: Zach Beaman started 32nd in 2014 and finished fifth. This marks the only time a driver has started outside the top 30 and scored a top five.  He passed 27 cars to get his finish that year.


32: Mike Holden (32) is the defending track champion at Evergreen. He won three times last season and had three runner-up finishes.  The local fans will look to him as one to watch.


41: Total number of Super Late Models on the track’s pre-race entry list.


64: Veteran driver Garrett Evans finished second to Pollard a year ago.


142: Bubba Pollard led 142 laps a year ago to score the win and capture the bonus money.  Pollard will not be making the trip west this year, so the door is open for a new winner.


200: The main event is 200 laps for the Super Late Models.


205: Cameron Hayley led a race-record 205 of 206 laps in 2014.  Hayley won the pole and beat out Garrett Evans and 2012 winner Pete Harding.


500: For eight years the Evergreen Speedway hosted a NASCAR K&N  Pro Series West race that was 500 laps on the the big track in Washington State. Bill Sedgwick and Chad Little won twice as Derrick Cope, Bill Elliott, Geoffrey Bodine, and Rick Carelli picked up victories as well.


$10,000: The best overall finish between the Summer Showdown and the Winter Showdown will pocket $10,000.  The top five from the Winter race were Bubba Pollard, Parker Stephens, Jeremy Doss, Tyler Tanner, Noah Gragson.


$25,000: The amount of the winner’s check for the Summer Showdown.  The race pays $1,200 to start.


$36,000: The money Bubba Pollard walked away with a year ago after taking the bonus money for winning the Winter Showdown at Kern County Raceway (CA).


Oh Canada: So far two of the four races have been won by Canadian drivers.  There will be a few in the field this coming weekend.


Past Winners 

2015 Bubba Pollard

2014 Cameron Hayley

2013 Jay Saules

2012 Pete Harding


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @Elgin Traylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 5th Annual Summer Showdown at Evergreen