One of Alabama’s most prestigious short track races, the Alabama 200, will take place this weekend at Montgomery Motor Speedway (AL). We get you geared up for the big race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


5: In all, five of the last six Alabama 200 winners have been first-time winners.  We might see another this year given the new faces we have already seen in victory lane during Show Me the Money Series events.


9: Georgia drivers and Alabama drivers have won nine of the last 10 Alabama 200’s.  Donnie Wilson was the spoiler in 2016 when he the first Oklahoma driver to win the race.


18: Casey Roderick heads to Montgomery looking for a win and what would be the first back-to-back wins in the Alabama 200 since 2010 and 2011 when Augie Grill did the double. For car owner Ronnie Sanders it was his first win in the race since 1979.


75: The Modifieds of Mayhem will run a 75-lap feature on Sunday prior to the Pro Late Model race.


51: Sunday’s feature races will be streamed via a live broadcast on’s Summer Thunder TV.  Race fans who can’t make it to the track will be able to watch the race by purchasing a monthly or yearly subscription.


81: After his mild upset win in the first Show Me The Money Series race of the season, Giovanni Bromante returns looking to take down another big win.  He ran fourth in the Alabama 200 one year ago.


109: Casey Roderick led 109 laps a year ago to score a dominating win.


112: Augie Grill looks to win his fifth Alabama 200 after leading 320 laps in the last five Alabama 200’s combined.


200: The Alabama 200 is 200 laps.  The race will be run on Sunday afternoon during the day time.  This is one of the crown jewels in Pro Late Model racing.


7,000: The driver who crosses the finish line first will pocket $7,000.


105: Kyle Grissom led 105 laps in the 2015 Alabama 200 only to come home second to race winner Chase Elliott.


173: Augie Grill led 173 laps in 2014 and did not end up in victory lane.


Title on the Line: How will the 2018 Show Me the Money Pro Late Model track championship shake out?  John Bolen is seeking another crown as he holds a four point advantage over Dustin Smith.


Double Duty: Don’t be surprised to see Augie Grill behind the wheel of both his Modified and Pro Late Modelon Sunday.


Deep History: Richard Petty and Bobby Allison captured wins in the Alabama 200 at Montgomery in what was a NASCAR Cup race at the time. Allison won this race twice.


Past Winners 

2017 Casey Roderick

2016 Donnie Wilson

2015 Chase Elliott

2014 Anderson Bowen

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Mason Massey

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Augie Grill

2009 Augie Grill

2008 Augie Grill

2007 Casey Smith

2005 Jason Hogan, Ted Musgrave Jr.

2004 Hunter Robbins

2000 Gary Helton

1999 Gary Jones

1996 Dave Mader III

1995 Junior Niedecken

1994 Eddie Mercer

1993 Bobby Gill

1992 Mike Harmon

1991 Clay Brown

1985 Mike Alexander

1984 Wayne Newton

1983 Mike Oliver

1982 Donnie Allison

1979 Ronnie Sanders

1978 Jody Ridley

1976 Ronnie Sanders

1975 Buck Simmons

1974 Jody Ridley

1973 Neil Bonnett

1972 Ed Howe

1971 Alton Jones

1970 Red Farmer

1969 Red Farmer

1968 Bobby Allison

1967 Richard Petty

1966 No Info

1965 Dave Mader

1964 Joe Lee Johnson

1963 Friday Hassler

1962 Bobby Allison

1961 Red Farmer

1960 Crash Bond


-Story by Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent
-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 54th Annual Alabama 200 at Montgomery