One of the nation’s most historic short track races, the Alabama 200, will be held for the 53rd time this weekend at Montgomery Motor Speedway (AL). To get ready for the big race, we take a look at the history of the Alabama 200 “by the numbers.”


1: Track officials have announced Robbie White Performance and Hamner Racing Engines have teamed up to sponsor the Pole Award for the Alabama 200. Fast time Saturday night for Pro Late Model qualifying will pay $500.


2: DUBZ Thermal Products will pay $250 to the number-two qualifier in the Pro Late Model division.


8: Georgia drivers and Alabama drivers have won eight of the last nine Alabama 200s with Donnie Wilson being the spoiler last year by becoming the first Oklahoma driver to win the race.


300x250 Montgomery 2017.09.11 Alabama 20018: Casey Roderick has been lights out this season in the No. 18 machine out of the Ronnie Sanders Racing shop.  Sanders is a two-time winner of the Alabama 200 (1976 and 1979) and hopes his driver can add a third for the Georgia-based team.


26: It’s a popular number in short track racing these days with several drivers having won big races in it.  From Bubba Pollard to Preston Peltier to Travis Braden, 26 is a notable number.  Willie Allen has been using it for success as well and the multi-time Nashville winner is looking to cash in at the Alabama 200 this weekend.


40: A total of 40 different drivers have earned points this season at Montgomery Motor Speedway in Pro Late Model action.


46: If you are looking for a big money driver who’s not named Casey Roderick then look at Cole Williams this year.  First, he won at Bristol in the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour.  He followed that up by going flag-to-flag to win the green jacket at I-44 Speedway in the Masters of the Pros.  The Alabama 200 could be next on his list as he’s on the entry list.


75: The Modfieids of Mayhem will run a 75-lap feature on Sunday with the Pro Late Models.


100: Alabama Brick has donated $300 to be paid to the leader at lap 100. The race has controlled cautions so it will be a battle for the extra bucks.


112: Augie Grill looks to win his fifth Alabama 200 after leading 295 laps in the last four Alabama 200s combined.  The race switches back from a Super Late Model race to a Pro Late Model show.


200: The race is 200 laps and it’s been a part of stock car racing for over 50 years.  The first running was back in 1960.


Double Up: Ironically, this race has been won during the same year in which a driver went on the win the Snowball Derby several times.  In all, four drivers — Chase Elliott (2015), Augie Grill (2008), Bobby Gill (1993) and Ed Howe (1972) — have won the Alabama 200 and the Snowball Derby in the same year.


Double Duty: We expect Perry Patino to do double duty with him running second in the track’s Late Model Sportsman class.  He is two points behind Jason Furrow for the championship.  He will also run 200 laps on Sunday.


Double Down: Casey Roderick will win the Pro Late Model track championship for the second straight year. Hunter Robbins won back-to-back in 2011 and 2012.


Past Alabama 200 Winners 

2016 Donnie Wilson

2015 Chase Elliott

2014 Anderson Bowen

2013 Chase Elliott

2012 Mason Massey

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Augie Grill

2009 Augie Grill

2008 Augie Grill

2007 Casey Smith

2005 Jason Hogan, Ted Musgrave Jr.

2004 Hunter Robbins

2000 Gary Helton

1999 Gary Jones

1996 Dave Mader III

1995 Junior Niedecken

1994 Eddie Mercer

1993 Bobby Gill

1992 Mike Harmon

1991 Clay Brown

1985 Mike Alexander

1984 Wayne Newton

1983 Mike Oliver

1982 Donnie Allison

1979 Ronnie Sanders

1978 Jody Ridley

1976 Ronnie Sanders

1975 Buck Simmons

1974 Jody Ridley

1973 Neil Bonnett

1972 Ed Howe

1971 Alton Jones

1970 Red Farmer

1969 Red Farmer

1968 Bobby Allison

1967 Richard Petty

1966 No Info

1965 Dave Mader

1964 Joe Lee Johnson

1963 Friday Hassler

1962 Bobby Allison

1961 Red Farmer

1960 Crash Bond


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 53rd Annual Alabama 200 at Montgomery