The 51st Annual Florida Governor’s Cup takes place this weekend at New Smyrna Speedway in New Smyrna Beach, Florida.  Our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the race “by the numbers.”


12: According to unofficial records David Rogers has run the Gov Cup 28 times. The truth be told it’s more like 35 times as full results for some past events are not complete. Rogers is a two time winner and has 12 top five finishes under his belt.


26: Bubba Pollard looks to win the Florida Governor’s Cup 200 for the first time. He has a fifth and fourth and he sat on the pole in 2013.  The two-time RedEye 100 winner is seeking a big win before trying for the Snowball Derby in a few weeks.


300x250 51 Network 2017(2)52: This is the 52nd Annual Governor’s Cup.


91:  Ty Majeski is back for another round at the Florida Governor’s Cup 200. He’s won the last two and seeks a third-straight win.  Bobby Gill won three-in-row in the 90’s.  Majeski is two-for-two at the Gov Cup in two starts and he has five Speedweeks wins and a championship


100:  The night before the big show Pro Late Models will race for 100-laps at New Smyrna.   Brad May won the season long track point championship and should be one of the favorites to contend for the win.


200: The Florida Governor’s Cup 200 is 200 laps making it the longest race of the season at New Smyrna Speedway.  This year will be the 52nd annual running of the race.


350: The number of laps led by Stephen Nasse in the Governor’s Cup.  He’s due for his first win after having won the most recent Super Late Model race at the track.  Nasse has never finished in the top five in the race despite several strong runs.


$15,000: Awaits the winner of the Florida Governor’s Cup 200.  This is one of the richest races not only in Super Late Model racing, but in all of asphalt racing.


Former Speedweeks Champions:  Steve Wallace, Jeff Choquette, and Harrison Burton are just a few of the former champions that will be racing this weekend. Burton won the title in February after two wins and five top 10’s.


Another Championship: David Rogers won the track Super Late Model title this year marking his, well we don’t really know, but it’s a lot.  He won it countless times since the 70’s.


Former Winners: Along with Majeski expected past winners include David Rogers, Augie Grill, Jeff Choquette and perhaps Travis Cope.


Past Winners

2016 Ty Majeski

2015 Ty Majeski

2014 Travis Cope

2013 Augie Grill

2012 Augie Grill

2011 Erik Jones

2010 David Rogers

2009 Tim Russell

2008 Wayne Anderson

2007 Jeff Choquette

2006 Jeff Scofield

2005 Mike Fritts

2004 Jeff Choquette

2003 Wayne Anderson

2002 Mike Fritts

2001 James Powell, III

2000 Jimmy Cope

1999 Wayne Anderson

1998 Billy Bigley, Jr.

1997 David Rogers

1996 Jack Cook

1995 David Russell

1994 Pete Orr

1993 Pete Orr

1992 Bobby Gill

1991 Bobby Gill

1990 Bobby Gill

1989 Dick Anderson

1988 Dick Anderson

1987 Butch Miller

1986 Butch Miller

1985 Butch Miller

1984 Butch Miller

1983 Leroy Porter

1982 Jimmy Cope

1981 Mike Eddy

1980 Not Run

1979 Jim Fenton

1978 Dick Trickle

1977 Robert Hamke

1976 Ed Howe

1975 Ed Howe

1974 Ed Howe

1973 Wayne Reutimann

1972 Ed Howe

1971 Jack Arnold

1970 Don Gregory

1969 Robert Hamke

1968 Gary Balough

1967 Dumont Smith

1966 Bobby Brack

1965 Wayne Reutimann


-By: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo Credit:

By the Numbers: 52nd Annual Governor’s Cup 200 at New Smyrna