The 51st Annual Florida Governor’s Cup takes place this weekend at New Smyrna Speedway in New Smyrna Beach, Florida.  Our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the race “by the numbers.”


3: A pair of drivers enter this Sunday’s Governor’s Cup looking for their third Governor’s Cup victory.  Jeff Choquette has done really well in the Jett Motorsports machine having won several Pro Late Model events and is a two-time winner of the race.  Fellow two-time race winner Angie Grill is returning to form after running a somewhat abbreviated schedule in the spring.


11: According to unofficial records, David Rogers has run the Governor’s Cup 27 times. But truth be told, it’s more like 35 times as full results for some past events are not complete. Rogers is a two-time winner and has 11 top-five finishes under his belt.


12: Harrison Burton will return to New Smyrna for the Governor’s Cup after winning the pole and finishing third in 2014. Burton is a six-time winner at New Smyrna Speedway in World Series action and now looks to get a win at the Gov Cup.


51: This is the 51st Annual Governor’s Cup. will have live Trackside Now coverage of the race on Saturday and Sunday.


91: Ty Majeski is back for another round at the Florida Governor’s Cup 200. Last year he took the win and went on to win the Super Late Model Speedweeks title in February.  Majeski has had a fine season with nearly 30 wins and another ARCA Midwest Tour title to had to his impressive list of accomplishments.


100: The night before the big show Pro Late Models will race for 100 laps at New Smyrna. Daniel Keene Jr. is former winner of this race and he will be in the Grand American Race Cars house car looking to add another win.


200: The Florida Governor’s Cup 200 is 200 laps, making it the longest race of the season at New Smyrna Speedway.


247: The number of laps led by Stephen Nasse in the Governor’s Cup.  He’s due for his first win after having won the most recent Super Late Model race at the track.  Nasse has never finished in the top five in the race despite several strong runs.  \


$15,000: The amount of money awaiting the winner of the Florida Governor’s Cup 200.  This is one of the richest races not only in Super Late Model racing, but in all of asphalt racing.


Calling All Winners & Challengers:  Ty Majeski will be back along with Augie Grill, David Rogers, Jeff Choquette, Jeff Scofield, and we expect Travis Cope.  Checking out some driver websites and the entry lists adds Stephen Nasse who is a proven winner at Smyrna, Steve Wallace, Harrison Burton and Cole Anderson.  An impressive list to built on come this weekend.


Record Year: Cole Anderson was a surprise winner of the Red-Eye 100 and the Orange Blossom 100.  He also picked up a Speedweeks Pro Late Model win.  If he capped off his season at New Smyrna with a Gov Cup win perhaps no one would be surprised.


Past Winners

2015 Ty Majeski

2014 Travis Cope

2013 Augie Grill

2012 Augie Grill

2011 Erik Jones

2010 David Rogers

2009 Tim Russell

2008 Wayne Anderson

2007 Jeff Choquette

2006 Jeff Scofield

2005 Mike Fritts

2004 Jeff Choquette

2003 Wayne Anderson

2002 Mike Fritts

2001 James Powell, III

2000 Jimmy Cope

1999 Wayne Anderson

1998 Billy Bigley, Jr.

1997 David Rogers

1996 Jack Cook

1995 David Russell

1994 Pete Orr

1993 Pete Orr

1992 Bobby Gill

1991 Bobby Gill

1990 Bobby Gill

1989 Dick Anderson

1988 Dick Anderson

1987 No Race

1986 No Race

1985 No Race

1984 No Race

1983 Leroy Porter

1982 Jimmy Cope

1981 Mike Eddy

1980 No Race

1979 Jim Fenton

1978 Dick Trickle

1977 Robert Hamke

1976 Ed Howe

1975 Ed Howe

1974 Ed Howe

1973 Wayne Reutimann

1972 Ed Howe

1971 Jack Arnold

1970 Don Gregory

1969 Robert Hamke

1968 Gary Balough

1967 Dumont Smith

1966 Bobby Brack

1965 Wayne Reutimann


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 51st Annual Governor’s Cup 200 at New Smyrna