By the Numbers: $50,000 FASTRAK World Championship

The richest race in Dirt Pro Late Model history is just one day away.  Before the action heats up at Virginia Motor Speedway, we take a look at the $50,000-to-win FASTRAK World Championship in this edition of By the Numbers on Speed51. 

2: Only two drivers, Dennis Franklin and Shanon Buckingham, have won this race more then once. Franklin has won twice in the last six years.


2: Every driver will race in two heats as passing points will determine the starting lineup. The top 16 drivers in passing points are locked into Saturday’s A-Main. All other drivers transfer to Saturday’s B-Mains, lined up according to passing points.


28: The number of drivers that will start the $50,000-to-win main event on Saturday.


32: Watch out for the 32 car of “Downtown” Michael Brown who is wishing this race was run in May when he won four-straight races.  He’s hoping his sixth win of the year is the biggest of his career.


33: Maybe a Georgia Peach like driver number No. 33 Tyler Millwood will be the winner of the big payday. Millwood was the 2017 ULTIMATE Super Late Model Champion.


47: A good pick might be the track Champion at Virginia Motor Speedway, the No. 47 ride of Matt Quade.  Perhaps this will be a big weekend for a local driver.


51: is the place to be for live pay-per-view video coverage of the 16th Annual World Championship


55: There were 55 cars attempting to make the World Championship in 2018. The 2017 edition had some 71 cars trying to make the show. All indications point to a record field in 2019.


75: Hey, why not the 75 car in the 75 lapper? Brett Hamm, driver of car No. 75, has had a fine season with three Carolina Clash wins and almost all of his finishes in the top 10.


75: The feature event will be a total of 75 laps, making it a race of endurance and strategy.


2018: In 2018, Waynesboro, Virginia driver Logan Roberson won the FASTRAK World Championship and he’s already been back to Virginia Motor Speedway to taste victory again in 2019.  Look for him to run strong this weekend.


$2,050: If you look up and down the dirt world some tracks only pay $2,000 to win, so a $2,050 to start entry blank will draw attention from all around the county.


$50,000: The big check, the prize and the dream of one driver will come true with a payday of $50,000 to win.  Sure, the Super Late Models get big bucks, but this is the biggest for Pro Late Models on dirt.


Past Winners

2018 Logan Roberson

2017 Ross Bailes

2016 Dennis Franklin

2015 Walker Arthur

2014 Tim Dohn

2013 Dennis Franklin

2012 Max Blair

2011 Mike Pegher, Jr.

2010 AJ Diemel

2009 Shanon Buckingham

2008 Royce Bray

2007 William Thomas

2006 Steve LaMance

2005 David Browning, Shanon Buckingham

2004 Todd Higdon


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: $50,000 FASTRAK World Championship