One of the richest pavement Super Late Model races will be held this Saturday at Kern County Raceway in Bakersfield, CA.  The 4th Annual Winter Showdown, which pays $30,000 to the winner, will be a must-see race for short track fans.  We get you ready for the big race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


1.0: The average starting spot for Derek Thorn at the Winter Showdown. He’s been the fast qualifier in each of the first three events. He hopes to continue that trend this year and win the race for the second straight year.


2: Derek Thorn is the only driver running this weekend with two top-five finishes in the Winter Showdown. He looks for his second win to tie Bubba Pollard, who won the first two versions of the race.


4: This is the 4th annual running of the Winter Showdown.


21: Last year, Donnie Wilson made up 21 spots to finish second after starting 23rd.


22: Chris Eggleston heads to Kern County fresh off a win at the Chilly Willy 150. After an epic duel with Preston Peltier, he hopes to add another big win to his 2018 season. Eggleston was 11th a year ago after starting 18th. That to date has been his best finish in the race.


24: Preston Peltier has completed all but 24 laps in the first three runnings of the Winter Showdown. Peltier was second last week at the Chilly Willy and won the Summer Showdown at Evergreen in 2017.


51: After getting his second Snowball Derby win in December, Kyle Busch is ready to keep the Rowdy Chassis in victory lane. He finished third in his Winter Showdown debut a year ago and those laps on the track could lead to another big win for Rowdy. He’s won the Derby, the Winchester 400, the Oxford 250 and just about everything in-between.


300x250 SRL Winter Showdown PPV51 Network: Instead of the typical pay-per-view format, this year’s race will be available to Speed51 Network premium subscribers (monthly or yearly) thanks to support from PFC Brakes.  Additionally, you’ll also be able to watch the Meltdown Race at Greenville Pickens Speedway (SC) on Saturday afternoon. Click here to subscribe today.


52: The number of entires for the big race. Last year, 47 cars took time during qualifying. The record of 53 drivers was established during the 2015 Winter Showdown.


75: Jeremy Doss, driver of the No. 75, seeks to improve on his third-place finish in 2016. He came from 21st to third that day.


91: Ty Majeski, driver of the No. 91 ride, will head west for the first time in his career. Majeski has marquee wins at the Rattler 250 and the Florida Governor’s Cup 200 on his resume. Now on the verge of a season that will see him run more in the top three series of NASCAR, he looks to add another big Super Late Model win.


250: Derek Thorn led all 250 laps a year ago to win the third Annual Winter Showdown. In all, Thorn has led laps in all three Showdown races with a total of 467 laps led.


300: The race is extended to 300 laps this year. This makes it one of the longest Super Late Model races in the county, only behind the All American 400 and the Winchester 400.


30,000: The winner will pocket $30,000 if they can win the 300-lap feature at Kern County Raceway. The race will also pay $3,000 to start as a result of the Coors Light / Bonus.


Overdue for Mayhew: He led 56 laps in 2016 and appeared to be a serious contender for the win. After finishing the race for the first time in 2017, Mayhew hopes that this is the year he gets to victory lane. Watch for the No. 17 car this weekend.


Colorado Connection: Colorado driver Dominic Ursetta will look to make the race for a third time this weekend. Last year, he made only 25 laps before a fire took him out of the race early.


Major Rankings: The Winter Showdown is now a 300-lap, $30,000 to win race which ranks it up there with the best of the best Super Late Model crown jewels. As the race continues to grow, the history will grow with it.


Winter Showdown Former Winners

2015 – Bubba Pollard

2016 – Bubba Pollard

2017 – Derek Thorn


Winter Showdown Entry List
1 Matthew Wendt
2 Craig Raudman
5 Mason Mingus
05 Eric Schmidt
6 Dominic Ursetta
9 Derek Kraus
08 Jace Hansen
09 Kayla Eshleman
11 Dustin Ash
11 Tracy Bolin
11 Austin Herzog
12 Colby Potts
14 Chris Davidson
15 Buddy Shepherd
17 David Mayhew
18 Jack Wood
18 Noah Gragson
19 Eddie McKean
19 Brandon White
20 Cole Moore
21 Blaine Rocha
21 Daniel Hemric
21 Eric Holmes
22 Chris Eggleston
23 Dan Holtz
24 Scott Sanchez
26 CMS
27 John Moore
29 Cole Williams
33 MK Kanke
36 Luke Hall
40 Dylan Caldwell
43 Kody Vanderwal
43 Derek Thorn
44 Bob Lyon
45 Nick Joanides
48 Preston Peltier
51 Kyle Busch
51 Carlos Vieira
52 Ryan Philpott
53 Cole Cabrera
58 Tyler Ankrum
65 Tyler Tanner
66 Logan Bearden
66 Jeff Bischofberger
75 Jeremy Doss
86 Tom Berrow
86 Mike David
88 Kolby Berry
89 Bobby Hodges
91 Ty Majeski
99 Tanner Wattenbarger


-Text by Elgin Traylor, Stat Boy

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Winter Showdown at Kern County