By the Numbers: 48th Annual Winchester 400

The Winchester 400 at Winchester Speedway (IN) is one of the storied, historic events in Super Late Model racing.  Drivers have been tackling the high banks of the Indiana half-mile for a grueling 400 laps since 1970.  To preview this weekend’s 48th Annual Winchester 400, we take a look “By the Numbers” at the event’s history.


0: Number of wins in the Winchester 400 for Johnny VanDoorn. This will be his 10th try as he’s got two runner-up finishes. He has five wins at the track in shorter distances.


1: Travis Braden is the only former winner in the field, so unless he wins it will be a fourth-straight year of a first time winner.


3: Cody Coughlin has three top-five runs in the Winchester 400 in only four starts.  Now he’ll look to seal the deal and get his first 400 win.


4: Mark Martin is the all-time leader in pole awards for the Winchester 400 with four starts from the top spot.  Martin told in the past that he was the first to circle the half mile in under 16 seconds. “I remember setting the track record in 1980 – 15.74,” said Martin.   “It was the first time anyone ran in the 15 second bracket and that was pretty cool until Ryan Newman ran 14.908 at Bristol.  Winchester was our Superspeedway. I enjoyed going there back in the day.”


6: A total of six drivers completed all 400 laps in 2018.


7:  Bob Senneker won the Winchester 400 a record seven times, but it was the way in which he won it because he was in the right place at the right time so many times.


14.935: The race’s track record for qualifying set in 2009 by Chris Gabehart.


48: This will be the 48th running of the Winchester 400. The race did not run in 2004 and 2005 when the track was closed.


51: Stephen Nasse in the 51 machine might be due for Winchester 400 success.  Nasse has completed all but six laps in the last three years.  He also won on the high banks of Bristol at the Short Track U.S. Nationals and swept the Labor Day races at Winchester.


343: Donnie Wilson has led 343 career laps at the Winchester 400, however his luck has not always been there. His lap total is now in the top 10.  Sunday will be his 11th run in the 400 and he’s looking for his third top-five finish after a third in 2014 and a fourth in 2008.


400: The Winchester 400 is 400 laps around the high-banks of the Indiana track.


1859: Number of laps that Mike Eddy has led at the Winchester 400, despite leading nearly five full races, he won only twice in 1981 and 1983.  In that three year span he led 895 of 1200 laps.  Perhaps one of the most dominating areas in the 400’s history.


1982: Steve Wallace is trying to do what his dad did in 1982 when he won the Winchester 400.


1987: It was almost the perfect day in 1987 for Butch Miller, who won the Winchester 400 from the pole and captured the ASA championship on the same day.  It was Miller’s year as he went on to take the Snowball Derby in December as well.


2010: We just saw Chase Elliott win his second NASCAR cup race at Dover, but that all started on a little half-mile track in Indiana.  Chase Elliott won the 2010 Winchester 400 when he led the final 44 laps and beat out Johnny VanDorn for the win.


Active Lap Leaders in the Winchester 400

Donnie Wilson 343

Johnny VanDoorn 214

Chandler Smith 192

Travis Braden 60

Raphael Leesard 47


Past Winchester 400 Winners

2018 Jeff Choquette

2017 Noah Gragson

2016 Travis Braden

2015 Erik Jones

2014 Erik Jones

2013 Erik Jones

2012 Ross Kenseth

2011 Boris Jurkovic

2010 Chase Elliott

2009 Kyle Busch

2008 David Stremme

2007 Ryan Lawler

2006 Scott Hantz

2005 Not Run

2004 Not Run

2003 Bobby Parsley

2002 Gary St. Amant

2001 Joey Clanton

2000 Gary St. Amant

1999 Brian Ross

1998 Derick Gilchrist

1997 Hank Parker Jr.

1996 Scott Walters

1995 Mike Cope

1994 Mike Cope

1993 Mike Cope

1992 Tim Steele

1991 Glenn Allen Jr.

1990 Bob Senneker

1989 Butch Miller

1988 Ted Musgrave

1987 Butch Miller

1986 Mark Martin

1985 Mark Martin

1984 Bob Senneker

1983 Mike Eddy

1982 Rusty Wallace

1981 Mike Eddy

1980 Terry Senneker

1979 Don Gregory

1978 Bob Senneker

1977 Bob Senneker

1976 Bob Senneker

1975 Bob Senneker

1974 Bob Senneker

1973 Vern Schorck

1972 Dave Sorg

1971 Denny Miles

1970 Dave Sorg


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 48th Annual Winchester 400