– Number of drivers who have swept both the Snowball Derby and the Snowflake 100 in the same weekend. The closest to do it was Augie Grill in 2007 as he finished third in that years’ Snowflake before winning the Derby the next day. Chase Elliott won the Snowflake 100 and the Derby in 2013, but was disqualified from the Derby in post-race technical inspection.


0 – The total number of wins by some of the biggest names in short track racing history including: Bobby Allison, Johnny Benson Jr., Mike Eddy, Red Farmer, Junior Hanley, Scott Hansen, Mark Martin, Freddie Query, Jim Sauter, Bob Senneker, Rusty Wallace and more. Each of those drivers tried, but never made it to victory lane at the Snowball Derby.


2 – Rich Bickle, Butch Miller, Jeff Purvis, Darrell Waltrip, Eddie Mercer, Rich Crawford and Jody Ridley all have something in common.  They are all former Snowball Derby winners, but they also all had to finish second in the big race before they won it.


3 – The number of all-time Snowball Derby Pole Awards won by Eddie Mercer and Bobby Gill. Both drivers are tied at the top of that category.


4 – A year ago four different drivers led at least 50 laps during the Derby making us wonder who was going to win the race.  In the end, John Hunter Nemechek end up as the winner of the Tom Dawson trophy.


5 – The number of wins by Rich Bickle Jr., at the Snowball Derby.  He holds the record for most Snowball Derby wins, as he has won five times in 11 starts.  He holds a nice .454 batting average at the Pensacola half-mile oval.


6 – The race will be run on December 6.  That date in Derby history finds stories like:


45 years ago – Wayne Niedecken scored the win in the third Derby to become the first two-time winner.

34 years ago – Freddie Fryar also won the race for the second time after holding off Jerry Lawley and Ronnie Sanders.

28 years ago – Butch Miller capped of a fine season by winning the 1987 Snowball Derby from the pole over Red Farmer.

23 years ago – Gary St. Amant takes his first Derby over Jeff Purvis.  St. Amant would win again in the year 2000.

17 years ago – Rich Bickle won his fourth Snowball Derby.  Bickle would win one more time in 1999 to make it an unheard of five Snowball Derby wins.

6 years ago – On a super Cold Sunday Kyle Busch wins his first Snowball Derby.


7 – Number of times the race has been won from the pole. The last driver to do it was Eddie Mercer in 2005.


12 – The number of top-five finishes Jody Ridley has collected over the years of the Snowball Derby. That’s the most of any driver all-time in the 46 Snowball Derbys held.


16.120 – Super Late Model track record held by Ty Majeski set during qualifying for the 48th Annual Snowball Derby on Friday night.


25 – Dalton Sargeant started 25th a year ago and finished second in his first Snowball Derby. He won’t have as far to go to get to the front this time around, as he qualified fourth.


31 – Number of Snowball Derby’s started by Red Farmer.  David Rogers could tie him this season if he makes the race. Farmer ran the first two and was still racing as late as 1999.


36 – Different drivers have won the race. Of those, only nine drivers have won it more than once.


37 – The maximum number of cars that will start the race.


48 – This will be the 48th running of the Snowball Derby.


50 – The all-important last chance race that will happen on Saturday is a 50-lap sprint for your life.  We at Speed51.com have seen blood, sweat and tears after this event as some driver’s dreams come true and others are crushed in the blink of an eye.


51 – The only number you need to know when it comes to coverage. Speed51.com is the online home for all things Snowball Derby and Snowflake related.


99 – The famous number of the Niedecken family. Wayne Niedecken won twice including the inaugural race in 1968 and again in 1970. His son Junior Niedecken has competed in 28 Derbys.


233 – Chase Elliott led a race high 233 laps in 2013 and failed to win the race. He did take the checkered flag, but the win was taken away in post-race tech.


300 – The Snowball Derby is 300 laps for the Super Late Models on Sunday afternoon.


590 – Drivers have raced or attempted to qualify for the Snowball Derby.


752 – Eddie Mercer is the all-time lap leader at the Snowball Derby with 752 circuits led.


1953 – The year the track opened on Pine Forest Road in Pensacola.


1968 – The first year of the Snowball Derby. It was a 200-lap event that year.


2003 – The year Charlie Bradberry flew in late from the NASCAR banquet, started shotgun on the field and won the race after an epic battle with Gary St. Amant.


$22,500 – Is the winner’s share of Snowball Derby.  The race pays $1,500 to start.


-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

By the Numbers: 48th Annual Snowball Derby at Five Flags