By the Numbers: 47th Annual Oxford 250

With the completion of Sunday night’s 47th Annual Oxford 250, another year in the storied event is behind us.  To review all of the action, we look at some of the notable stats from this year’s running of the race at Oxford Plains Speedway.


2: Joey Dorion finished on the podium for the second time in the Oxford 250.  Prior to Sunday’s race, he also finished second in 2013.


4: Garrett Hall logged his fourth top-10 finish in the last five Oxford 250 races.


4: Dave Farrington, Jr. finished a career-best fourth in this year’s Oxford 250.  He has completed all but eight laps in his nine Oxford 250 starts.


5: It was a second-straight fifth-place finish for Mike Hopkins, who recorded his third-straight top 10 at the Oxford 250.


6: DJ Shaw was once again sixth or better for the fourth time in the last five years at Oxford.  He was sixth this year, while his best two runs were third in 2016 and 2019.


8: This is the eighth time the winner of the race has come from 20th or deeper in the starting lineup to win the race since 2004.  Prior to 2004, the winner had come from 20th or deeper only four times.


10: The race ended just short of 10pm, and a nod has to be given to the Pro All Stars Series and Oxford Plains Speedway staff.  It was a long day of racing after Saturday’s program was postponed due to a poor forecast, and they did an amazing job to get the show completed at a reasonable time.


10: By our count, Johnny Clark had won 10 other races that were 250 laps or more in distance prior to Sunday.  Number 11 was the one he wanted most.


13: A total of 13 cars finished on the lead lap on Sunday night.


19: Jeff Taylor and Tracy Gordon both started their 19th Oxford 250 on Sunday. Taylor came home with a second-place finish for the third time, and Gordon was 36th in the final rundown.


20: Johnny Clark scored the 20th win for Pine Tree State drivers at the Oxford 250.  It was not until the 11th Oxford 250 that a Maine driver won, when Mike Rowe won for the first time in 1984.


22: Johnny Clark started 22nd and won the Oxford 250.  He led 101 laps on the way to his first win in the historic event. Fellow Mainer Glen Luce started 22nd and won in 2015.


23: Ben Rowe made his 23rd Oxford 250 start and completed 249 laps.


38: Mike Rowe made his 38th Oxford 250 and finished 21st.


44: Nick Sweet was the first car out of the Oxford 250 and finished 44th.  The PASS point leader will have a huge hole to overcome after having so many cars start the race.


44: A total of 44 cars started the 2020 Oxford 250.


56: A total of 56 cars were on the grounds trying to make the Oxford 250.


400: Ben Rowe and DJ Shaw ran both the ACT 150 in the morning and the Oxford 250 at night.  However, only DJ Shaw completed all 400 laps and was sixth in the 250, as Rowe was a lap down and completed 399 laps.


442: Jeff Taylor has now led 442 laps in the Oxford 250.  He’s fourth now behind Ralph Nason (796), Mike Rowe (496), and Bob Pressley (448) in that statistic.  For Taylor, this one may hurt the most as he pitted an extra time under yellow and had to fight to get back to the front.  He might have won the Oxford 260 or 270, but the 250 slipped past him again last night.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo

By the Numbers: 47th Annual Oxford 250