1: Chase Purdy is back after winning the pole last year, and now he wants the big trophy.


14: This will be the 14th year that the Rattler 250 has been run at the 250-lap distance.  The race has evolved over the years and is now one of the longer shows in the country.


26: Bubba Pollard has 18 wins in the Southern Super Series and is the only driver to lead over 2000 laps in the series. We kind of forget that he comes into the Rattler 250 having won the last four Southern Super Series races.  Overall, this is his second four-race win streak in this series.


31: The car count for the Rattler 250 is just north of 30 as of late Wednesday night.


42: This weekend will be the 42nd running of the Rattler 250.


112: Augie Grill won the pole four times in a six-year run at South Alabama Speedway from 2006 to 2011 at the Rattler 250. Since then, there have been six different pole winners in the last six races.


250: The race will be 250 laps.


539: Augie Grill has led 539 laps at the Rattler 250 since the 2006 season.  The 2007 and 2009 winner has completed every lap in the last three versions of the race.


New Deal: Harrison Burton will be piloting a Chris Wimmer Motorsports car at the Rattler.  Read more info in our story from earlier in the week: http://speed51.com/burton-wimmer-to-continue-relationship-under-new-banner/


Hogging the Lead: During the last three runnings of the Rattler 250 there has been a driver each year to lead over 200 laps. Jeff Choquette led a total of 211 laps in 2017. In 2016, Ty Majeski led a race record 242 to seal his first win in Opp, Alabama.  Christopher Bell led 203 circuits during his win in 2015.


Southern Super Series Year Six: The Southern Super Series starts its sixth season after five years of no repeat champions.  Stephen Nasse made sure of that with a fifth consecutive first-time series champion in 2017.


Power List: Looking at the strength of the entry list for the Rattler 250, we think this could be the most talented field in years.  This year’s race features SpeedFest winner Chandler Smith, as well as Florida Speedweeks champion and defending Southern Super Series Stephen Nasse.  Jeff Choquette and Bubba Pollard were both on the podium at the Derby last year.  The list goes on and on.


Past Rattler 250 Pole Winners:


2017 Chase Purdy

2016 Bubba Pollard

2015 Anderson Bowen

2014 Casey Smith

2013 Chad Finley

2012 Logan Boyett

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Augie Grill

2009 Augie Grill

2008 Grant Enfinger

2007 Shane Sieg

2006 Augue Grill


Past Rattler 250 Winners


2017 Ty Majeski

2016 Ty Majeski

2015 Christopher Bell

2014 Casey Roderick

2013 Kyle Benjamin

2012 Bubba Pollard

2011 Grant Enfinger

2010 Jeff Fultz

2009 Augie Grill

2008 Grant Enfinger

2007 Augie Grill

2006 Ryan Crane

2005 Jason Hogan

2004 Wayne Willard

2003 Wayne Willard

2002 Charlie Bradberry

2001 Ronnie Sanders

2000 Donald Long

1999 Ronnie Sanders

1998 Dan Beddingfield

1997 No Race

1996 Johnny Brazier

1995 Wayne Neidecken Jr.

1994 Nix Bruce

1993 Snow

1992 No Info

1991 Rain

1990 Jerry Goodwin

1989 Bobby Gill

1988 No Race

1987 Rain

1986 Daniel Keene

1985 Mike Alexander

1984 Mickey Gibbs

1983 No Race

1982 Ronnie Sanders

1981 Bob Bean

1980 Kasper Miles

1979 Bill McGinnis

1978 Dave Mader III

1977 Russell Nelson

1976 Buck Simmons

1975 Pete Hamilton

1974 Phil Wendt

Dennie Rewins


-By: Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

By the Numbers: 42nd Rattler 250 at South Alabama