One of the most prestigious races of the Race of Champions (RoC) Modified Series season takes place Sunday afternoon at Lancaster National Speedway (NY).  The 30th Annual US Open will attract the best Modified racers from Western New York and beyond for 125 laps of ground-pounding action.


We get you caught up on the big race in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


3: Mike Leaty is still seeking his first win in the US Open after his dad won the first version of the race in 1989.  The younger Leaty has four third-place finishes in the big race.


4: Matt Hirschman has won this race four time, but he’s still behind Chuck Hossfeld who has five wins.


6: After taking his first win in the Modified portion of the US Open one year ago, Andy Jankowiak was actually celebrating his sixth win during the event. Jankowiak won five straight Sportsman races from 2010 to 2014.


7: Patrick Emerling has seven top-five finishes this season, but missing a race has him 98 points back with two shows to go.


8: Five-time US Open winner Chuck Hossfeld picked up his eighth win at the event after wining the Sportsman race for the third straight year Saturday night.


9: Matt Hirschman has nine total finishes among the two spots.  He has five second-place runs, including each of the last two years.  Add in his four wins and that makes nine top-two finishes.


15: By our account Chuck Hossfeld has competed in 15 of the previous 29 US Opens.  That’s impressive to see in this day and age.  It might be more, but full records are not available.


19: It took Jan Leaty 19 years to win the U.S. Open for a second time after he won the first in 1989.


49: Chuck Hossfeld leads the RoC Modified standings as he seeks his fourth career championship. He has not been the champion since the 2014 season.


51: Race fans can watch a live video stream of Sunday’s race on by becoming a monthly or yearly subscriber to the Speed51 Network.


125: The main event is 125 laps.


More to Race For: Chuck Hossfeld has two things to race for this coming weekend as he is eyeing a victory and a championship in the RoC Modified ranks.


Big Milestone for the U.S. Open: This year marks the 30th year of the U.S. Open 125.


Prelude to the Finale: This event is the prelude to the Race of Champions 250 at Lake Erie Speedway (PA) the following weekend.


Past Winners – US Open 

2017 Andy Jankowiak

2016 Patrick Emerling

2015 Matt Hirschman (4)

2014 Tony Hanbury

2013 Matt Hirschman (3)

2012 Matt Hirschman (2)

2011 Chuck Hossfeld (4)

2010 Chuck Hossfeld (3)

2009 Matt Hirschman

2008 Jan Leaty (2)

2007 Chuck Hossfeld (2)

2006 Chuck Hossfeld

2005 Eric Beers

2004 Tom McGrath (2)

2003 Zane Seiner

2002 Karl Hehr

2001 Chuck Hossfeld

2000 Tom McGrath

1999 Sege Fidanza (3)

1998 Danny Knool, Jr.

1997 Sege Fidanza (2)

1996 George Kent

1995 Sege Fidanza

1994 Duane Delamarter

1993 Charlie Rudolph

1992 Rick Fuller

1991 Reggie Ruggiero

1990 Tony Hirschman

1989 Jan Leaty


-Story by Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: / MoJo Photos

By the Numbers: 30th Annual US Open at Lancaster