The 25th Annual Myrtle Beach 400 takes place this weekend at Myrtle Beach Speedway (SC). We get you ready for the big race with a look at the event “by the numbers.”


3: Lee Pulliam has to be tired of finishing third as he’s been in that same spot for the last three years.  In four career starts, he has four podium finishes and a pole at Myrtle Beach.


4: Frank Deiny Jr. is the only four-time winner of this race. He is also the only driver to finish in the top five on five different occasions.


6: Frank Deiny, Jr. holds the record for the most podium finishes with six total including four wins and two second-place runs.


10: Sam Yarborough will be making his 10th start in the 400 this year.  He was the winner in 2007.


300x250 51 Network 2017(2)20:  One year ago, Christian Eckes became the 20th different winner of this race in 24 starts.  Only two drivers have won it more than once.


25: The final 25 laps of the Late Model race will be run under green.


27: Tommy Lemons, Jr. has won several races at Myrtle Beach, but none in the big one just yet.


43: The Late Model race will start up to 43 cars.  Martinsville only starts 42 cars.  This will be one of the largest fields of the year.


58: Total number of cars that attempted to make the show in 2016.


125: The Tour-type Modifieds will run a 125-lap feature the same day as the big race.  The race will have segment cautions at 50, 75 and 100.


All in the Family: Layne Riggs hopes to pull off a big win at Myrtle Beach like his dad Scott did in 1999. Riggs contended for the CARS Tour title and ran strong in several races this year. Maybe Myrtle Beach will be the site of his next win.


Best Chance Yet: Lee Pulliam is a former winner of the Myrtle beach 400, but perhaps this year is his best shot at winning it again.  Pulliam won the South Carolina NASCAR Whelen All-American Series state championship and the Myrtle Beach Speedway track championship this year, which gives him countless laps on the competition before the weekend.


Past Myrtle Beach 400 Winners 

2016 Christian Eckes

2015 Myatt Snider

2014 Travis Swaim

2013 Lee Pulliam

2012 Anthony Anders

2011 Garrett Campbell

2010 Frank Deiny, Jr.

2009 Lucas Ransone

2008 Jamey Caudill

2007 Sam Yarbrough

2006 Frank Deiny, Jr.

2005 Frank Deiny, Jr.

2004 Frank Deiny, Jr.

2003 Timothy Peters

2002 Robert Powell

2001 Robert Powell

2000 Greg Edwards

1999 Scott Riggs

1998 Stephen Grimes

1997 David Blankenship

1996 Jay Fogleman

1995 Freddie Query

1994 Gary St. Amant

1993 Jody Ridley


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 25th Annual Myrtle Beach 400