By the Numbers: 2020 World Series at New Smyrna

The 54th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing has officially come and gone.  After nine nights of exciting racing at New Smyrna Speedway, it’s time to look back on the week that was in this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.


2: Ty Majeski won the series ending 100-lap race for the second time in his career. Junior Hanley won the 100-lap race a record five times.


4: Matt Hirschman was victorious in the Richie Evans 100 for the fourth time, which puts him only one win behind the late Ted Christopher. Hirschman recorded his only win on the final night.


5: Travis Eddy won five time in the Florida Modified division marking the most wins in a single series for the Florida Modified class since Jerry Symons won six back in 2003. Eddy also reached double digits in career wins with 10 as he pocketed his third World Series title.


7: A pair of World Series Super Late Model veterans picked up wins to pad their stats.  Stephen Nasse won his seventh Super Late Model race at the World Series.  Ty Majeski also took win number seven in the final race of the week, the Orange Blossom 100.


8: Daniel Dye logged eight starts on the week with six in Pro Late Models and two in Super Late Models.  He finished in the top 10 some five times in the Pro Late Models.


9: All nine nights of action took place like they did in 2018.  It’s only the fourth time in the last 10 year that the entire World Series went without a rainout.


10: Stephen Nasse now has 10 career World Series wins, which count his seven Super Late Model wins and his three Pro Late Model wins from a few years back.


14: The Pro Late Model class reached 14 seasons with 14 different champions.


19: Over the last 19 years, the Super Late Model division has produced a total of 19 different champions. We have seen some drivers be the cream of the crop for several year, but they were only able to win one title because of luck and competition. If the streak continues after next year it will be 20 years in a row.


50: With three first-time winners in the Pro Late Model class the all-time total reached 50 drivers since it first started in 2007. Those 50 different winners have come in only 91 races.


100: Ty Majeski scored his 100th career victory with a win Saturday night in the Orange Blossom 100.


125: A total of 125 drivers raced in the four featured divisions this year at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.


So Close: 1976 was the last time that the Tour-Type Modifieds produced three-consecutive first-time winners to start a World Series.  That almost happened in 2020 as the first two nights had first-time winners with Anthony Nocella and Craig Lutz.  At points during the John Blewett Memorial, drivers who had not won at New Smyrna were around the top three before the epic finish.


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Speed51 Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Speed51

By the Numbers: 2020 World Series at New Smyrna