By the Numbers: 2019 Race of Champions Season

On Saturday night, the Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series returns to action to kick off the 2019 season, racing at Chemung Speedrome (NY).  Heading into the season, Speed51’s resident stat guru Elgin Traylor presents this “By the Numbers” preview of the campaign.


4: Last year Chuck Hossfeld picked up his fourth RoC points title by a margin of 74 markers.


7: The Race of Champions sanctioning body supports seven different divisions. Check out the series website for more information on the support classes.


12: A total of 12 Race of Champion Modified events make up the 2019 season. Things heat up in August with three races leading up to the championship run.  September caps off the year with the two big events in the US Open and the Race of Champions.


2019 Schedule 

5/18 – Chemung Speedrome (NY)

5/31 – Spencer Speedway (NY)

6/15 – Lake Erie Speedway (PA)

6/27 – Lancaster National Speedway (PA) – 5th Annual Ol’ Boy Cup

7/6 – The Track at Hillside (NY)

7/13 – Jukasa Motor Speedway (ON)

7/26 – Spencer Speedway (NY) – Spencer 100

8/3 – Chemung Speedrome (NY)  – Rod Spaulding Classic

8/17 – Lancaster National Speedway (PA) – 30th Annual Tribute to Tommy Druar / Tony Jankowiak ‘110’

8/30 – Spencer Speedway (NY) – Maynard Troyer Classic

9/15 – Lancaster National Speedway (PA) – US Open 100

9/28 – Lake Erie Speedway (PA) Race of Champions


15: Drivers should take note of a press release that came out this past week.  According to the release qualifying race winners will receive 15 points; second will receive 10; third place finishers will receive 8; fourth place finishers will receive 5; fifth place finishers will receive 3.


The overall fast-time award in group qualifying will still receive 5 bonus points. The feature race point system will remain as it has since the 2016 season.


This could be big when it comes to battling for the championship.


31: The Race of Champion Modified Tour features several marquee events and the US Open 100 at Lancaster Speedway will run the race for the 31st time this fall.


43: Matt Hirschman is the series all-time wins leader with 43.


69: Speaking of Marquee events, the Race of Champions will fire off from Lake Erie Speedway for what will be the 69th running of the historic event.  The event has never missed a year and is one of the longest running events in the county in any form of racing.


75: The season opener will be a 75-lap dash for a trophy in the Lid Lifters 75 at Chemung Speedway (NY).


258: There have been 258 races on the RoC tour.


RoC Modified Past Champions

2018 Chuck Hossfeld

2017 Mike Leaty

2016 Patrick Emerling

2015 Matt Hirschman

2014 Chuck Hossfeld

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Matt Hirschman

2011 Chuck Hossfeld

2010 Matt Hirschman

2009 Matt Hirschman

2008 Matt Hirschman

2007 Pete Brittain

2006 Earl Pauls

2005 Matt Hirschman

2004 Tony Hanbury

2003 George Kent

2002 George Kent

2001 George Kent

2000 George Kent

1999 J.R. Kent

1998 J.R. Kent

1997 Chuck Hossfeld

1996 George Kent

1995 George Kent

1994 Charlie Rudolph

*From 2003 to 2007 Only National Champions listed


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: photo

By the Numbers: 2019 Race of Champions Season