It’s time to get the 2019 Carolina Clash Super Late Model season underway.  After Mother Nature forced us to wait a week due to the postponement of the Skyler Trull Memorial at Carolina Speedway (NC), the season will begin this weekend at Lancaster Speedway (SC).  To get you ready for the season, we take a look at the history of the series in this edition of “By the Numbers” on Speed51.


3: Dennis Franklin is a three-time series champion, but after last season he is also a three-time series championship runner-up.  In all, he’s finished in the top 10 in points 11 times.


5: Ricky Weeks won five straight Carolina Clash titles and holds the record for the most titles with five.


6: Over the last two seasons, Zack Mitchell pocketed six Carolina Clash wins. That is the most in an era that has seen lost of parody.


9: In 2002 Scott Autry won the title by a slim nine-point margin.  That same feat was followed up by Kenny Compton, Jr. doing the same in 2014, winning the title by a slim nine points. Those are the two closest point battles on record.


10: A total of 10 different drivers visited victory lane in 2018 on the Carolina Clash tour. Only three drivers — Ross Bailes, Dennis Franklin and Zack Mitchell — won more than once.


20: This is the 20th season for the Carolina Clash Super Late Models. They have a been a fixture in the southeast for many years.


40: The feature event on Saturday night at Lancaster Speedway will be 40 laps for the Carolina Clash.


43: Dennis “Rambo” Franklin is a three-time series champion, but he’s also the series all-time winningest driver with 43 career victories.


2006: Petey Ivey won the first Carolina Clash race (on record) held at Lancaster Speedway.


5,000: While this race is the $5,000 dash for cash, the fall race will be a battle for $10,000 to win. Those are the two races scheduled for the Carolina Clash Super Late Models at Lancaster Speedway this season.


Carolina Clash Past Champions 

2018 Ross Bailes

2017 Zack Mitchell

2016 Johnny Pursley

2015 Ben Watkins

2014 Kenny Compton, Jr.

2013 Dennis Franklin

2012 Luke Roffers

2011 Dennis Franklin

2010 Dennis Franklin

2009 Jeff Smith

2008 Ricky Weeks

2007 Ricky Weeks

2006 Ricky Weeks

2005 Ricky Weeks

2004 Ricky Weeks

2003 Ed Basey

2002 Scott Autry

2001 Ed Gibbons

2000 Jeffrey Tyndall


Recent Carolina Clash Lancaster Winners


Joanthan Davenport

Dennis Franklin

Zack Mitchell



Not Run



Ross Bails

Jeff Smith


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 2019 Carolina Clash Super Late Model Season