The 2019 Deep South Cranes Blizzard Series kicks off Friday night at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Florida, beginning the Road to the 52nd Annual Snowball Derby.  Here is our “By the Numbers” preview of this year’s Blizzard Series to get you ready for the four-race campaign.


5:  A refresher history lesson, Pensacola, Florida is the city of Five Flags because of those who have ruled over the coastal Florida town.  Spain, France, Britain, the Confederacy and the United States.


13:  Georgia rules the Blizzard Series.  13 of the last 15 races have been won by Georgia drivers.


18:  Bubba Pollard has 18 career wins in the Blizzard Series at Five Flags Speedway.


20:  Nearly 20 drivers took to the track on Thursday night during the optional practice.


30:  Jesse Dutilly in the 30 car will be one to watch during the Blizzard Series this year. Dutilly set fast time at the season finale last September and ran well in his first Snowball Derby.


52:  The first race of the 2019 Blizzard Series starts the road to the 52nd Annual Snowball Derby.  Sure, the race is in December, but drivers and teams will gain information that could help them win the Snowball Derby in a few months.


58:  Making his 58th Blizzard start potentially this weekend, Donnie Wilson is still waiting for his first Blizzard Series win.  The former Southern Super Series champion and All American 400 winner has been close so many times and he’s even been second in the Snowball Derby.


100:  The 2019 Blizzard season will kick off with a 100-lap event.


207:  Kyle Plott set fast time at the last Blizzard race and he led a bunch of laps to become the all-time leader of any non-Blizzard Series winner.  He hopes to change that after wins at Watermelon Capital Speedway (GA) and Orange County Speedway (NC).


1395:  Augie Grill has led a total of 1,395 laps in Blizzard Series races. Considering most Blizzard races are 100 laps that’s several years of leading events at Five Flags.


Rookie Winners:  After Giovanni Bromante took the Rattler 250, we look to who could be the next rookie winner on the Southern Super Series circuit.   Connor Okrzesik is seeking his first SSS win, as are several others this weekend at Five Flags.


Opening Night First Time Winners:  It’s not happened since Kyle Grissom in 2015, but several times over the years including TJ Reaid won in 2013, Johanna Long in 2009 and Josh Hamner in 2008 has rookie won on opening night.


Past Blizzard Series Winners


Bubba Pollard 18

Augie Grill 9

Chase Elliott 5

Scott Carlson 5

Casey Roderick 4

Eddie Mercer 2

Johanna Long 2

Dave Mader, III 2

Daniel Hemric 2

Jeff Choquette 2

Charlie Bradberry 2

Cale Gale 1

Grant Enfinger 1

Hunter Robbins 1

Justin Drawdy 1

Ryan Crane 1

Josh Hamner 1

Mike Garvey 1

Kyle Benjamin 1

TJ Reaid 1

Kyle Grissom 1


Past Blizzard Champions


2018 Casey Roderick

2017 Bubba Pollard

2016 Casey Roderick

2015 Casey Roderick

2014 Bubba Pollard

2013 Daniel Hemric

2012 Bubba Pollard

2011 Augie Grill

2010 Chase Elliott

2009 Johanna Long

2008 Josh Hamner

2007 Scott Carlson

2006 Dave Mader, III

2005 Eddie Mercer


-Story by: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: photo

By the Numbers: 2019 Blizzard Series Season at Five Flags