The 2018 Super Late Model touring series season will begin on the West Coast this weekend when the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series kicks off its season at Madera Speedway (CA).  In the edition of “By the Numbers” on, we take a look at the new season for the popular touring series.


2: Last year, rookie Ricky Schlick was second in the points after recording a victory, five top fives and seven top 10s. He went toe-to-toe with four-time champion Derek Thorn.


18: This will be the 18th season for the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series.


40: This weekend kicks off the 2018 season with the 40th trip to Madera Speedway (CA) for the SRL Tour. This venue is hands down the most visited on the tour. Buddy Sheppard won the lone event there last year, ending a three-race win streak by Derek Thorn.  In all, Thorn has six wins at Madera.


43: The road to a championship goes through the No. 43 car of Derek Thorn; however, the Campbell Motorsports team is planning a limited schedule in 2018, which should open the door up to new players.


43.8%: Derek Thorn’s winning percentage in SRL competition, as he has 32 wins in 73 starts. It’s not the best mark as Jason Fensler has won 47% of his races with seven wins in 15 starts, but Thorn has run several full seasons.


75: The driver of the No. 75 will be one to keep an eye on in 2018.  Jeremy Doss ended the 2018 season in SRL victory lane at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Motor Speedway.  This season, he’s planning to run the full schedule and will certainly be a threat to contend for the championship.


125: Saturday’s race at Madera will be 125 laps.


166: There have been 166 total point races in SRL history.


266: By our records, a total of 266 drivers have raced in the SRL Series since its inception.


2009: The years 2009 was the last time that Jacob Gomes missed an SRL race.  He has 30 top-five finishes and 52 in the top 10 in 80 starts.  Those are some impressive numbers.


Looking for a New Hero:  Who will be the next champion in this series?  Earlier in the week spoke to two drivers who could be the next big thing.


Top-Five SRL Winners

1 Derek Thorn 32

2 Jim Pettit, II 16

3 M.K. Kanke 10

4 Jeff Anthony 9

5 Jason Fensler 7


Former SRL Champions 

2017 Derek Thorn

2016 Derek Thorn

2015 Jacob Gomes

2014 Derek Thorn

2013 Jim Pettit, II

2012 Derek Thorn

2011 Jim Pettit, II

2010 Jonathon Gomez

2009 M.K. Kanke

2008 Jim Pettit, II

2007 Dave Byrd

2006 Eric Schmidt

2005 Jason Fensler

2004 Steve Belletto

2003 Ron Strmiska, Jr.

2002 Jeff Anthony

2001 Nathan Tucker


-Story by Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 2018 SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series