The Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series will begin its 2018 season Saturday with a visit to Lancaster National Speedway (NY). Our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the 2018 RoC season in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


0: Mike Leaty won the 2017 RoC Asphalt Modified Series championship by 66 points despite not winning a race. He had seven top-five finishes, which was second to Patrick Emerling. However, Leaty only finished outside the top 10 once all season long.


11: The 2018 season will feature 11 events and will end with the 250-lap Race of Champions at Lake Erie Speedway (PA) on September 29. Andy Jankowiak, the driver of the No. 12, won a pair of RoC Modified races at Lancaster last season including the season opener.


22: Chuck Hossfeld scored just one RoC victory last season, but that one victory was in the Sportsman division.


25: During each race this season, the leader of Lap 25 will score a $25 bonus in honor of Jan “Pops” Leaty.


34: Patrick Emerling has finished in the top five 34 times in his last 46 starts. That includes all 12 of his wins in the series. Emerling also scored a series championship in 2016.


40: Matt Hirschman has 40 RoC wins in his career, with 96 top-five finishes and 125 top 10s.


248: The 2018 season will start off with the 247th event in series history.


1994: The inaugural Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Series season was held in 1994. Six races were completed that year, and Jan Leaty won three of them.


He Did What?: Tommy Catalano won both the Sportsman Modified and the Late Model championships last year with the RoC Tours. He also finished fourth in points with seven top-five runs on the Modified Tour. This time around, the driver of the No. 54 will look to make a run at the Modified championship.


RoC Modified Series All-Time Wins List (Top 10)

Matt Hirschman 40

Chuck Hossfeld 27

George Kent 22

Jan Leaty 16

Patrick Emerling 12

Sege Fidanza 10

Eric Beers 10

J.R. Kent 9

T.J. Portzebowski 9

Mike Leaty 8


RoC Asphalt Modified Series Champions

2017 Mike Leaty

2016 Patrick Emerling

2015 Matt Hirschman

2014 Chuck Hossfeld

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Matt Hirschman

2011 Chuck Hossfeld

2010 Matt Hirschman

2009 Matt Hirschman

2008 Matt Hirschman

2007 Pete Brittain

2006 Earl Pauls

2005 Matt Hirschman

2004 Tony Hanbury

2003 George Kent

2002 George Kent

2001 George Kent

2000 George Kent

1999 J.R. Kent

1998 J.R. Kent

1997 Chuck Hossfeld

1996 George Kent

1995 George Kent

1994 Charlie Rudolph

*From 2003 to 2007 Only National Champions listed


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: / MoJo Photos

By the Numbers: 2018 Race of Champions Asphalt Modifieds