The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North will kick off its 2018 season this Sunday at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (CT).  Our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the upcoming season in this edition of “By the Numbers.”


3: Travis Benjamin begins his bid for three PASS North titles after winning the honors in 2012 and 2017.  No driver has won back-to-back titles since Johnny Clark in 2010 and 2011. Benjamin will kick off the season behind the wheel of the No. 14 Frahm Racing ride at Thompson but will be back in the Petit Motorsports No. 7 for Oxford the following week.


3: Ben Rowe has three career PASS North wins at Thompson; Cassius Clark and Derek Ramstrom each have two prior wins at the track.  Those are the only PASS North drivers with multiple wins at the Connecticut oval.


15: This will be the 15th race at Thompson for the Pro All Stars Series.  The first race they ever ran was back in 2002 as a special non-points race, and that race was won by the late Scott Frasier.


18: It’s been 18 races since Johnny Clark won a PASS North race.  Clark has one Thompson win back in 2011.


21: A year ago, Travis Benjamin was 21st in the final rundown at Thompson.  His best career finish at Thompson was third in 2011 and 2012.


60: The No. 60 car of DJ Shaw is a two-time PASS champion, but he is winless at Thompson.  In six prior starts, his best finish was second one year ago.


100: The feature event at Thompson will be 100 laps.  This is an increase of 25 laps from last year’s race.


242: The first race of 2017 will be the 242nd start for PASS ironman Ben Rowe.  He’s never missed a PASS North points race, and combined with the south events he has over 300 career starts.  Last year, Rowe finished in the top three in points for the 12th time.


Chasing National Points: Southerners Jared Irvan and Kodie Conner will head north to  Thompson for the second of six PASS National events. Those two drivers, along with Derek Griffith, Ben Rowe and Ray Christian III make up five of the top six in the current PASS National point standings.


Former PASS Thompson Winners

2017 Eddie MacDonald

2016 Garret Hall

2012 Derek Ramstrom

2011 Johnny Clark

2010 Ben Rowe

2009 Derek Ramstrom

2008 Ben Rowe

2007 Ben Rowe

2006 Cassius Clark

2005 Cassius Clark

2004 Scott Mulkern

2004 Ted Christopher

2003 Mike Rowe

2002 Scott Frasier


Former PASS North Champions 

2017 Travis Benjamin

2016 DJ Shaw

2015 Mike Rowe

2014 DJ Shaw

2013 Cassius Clark

2012 Travis Benjamin

2011 Johnny Clark

2010 Johnny Clark

2009 Johnny Clark

2008 Johnny Clark

2007 Ben Rowe

2006 Johnny Clark

2005 Ben Rowe

2004 Johnny Clark

2003 Ben Rowe

2002 Ben Rowe

2001 Sam Sessions


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: Lindsay Ellison

By the Numbers: 2018 PASS North Super Late Model Season