The road to the 51st Annual Snowball Derby will begin Friday night when the Blizzard Series / Southern Super Series Super Late Models battle at Five Flags Speedway (FL).  Friday night’s race will be the first of four Blizzard Series races held at the Pensacola, FL oval this season.  Our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor get you ready for the race and the season in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


0: It’s hard to imagine, but Kyle Busch Motorsports has never won a Blizzard Series race. They have won or been a part of three Snowball Derby wins, but none in the Blizzard Series.


6 of 10: Bubba Pollard has won six of the last 10 Blizzard Series races. Pollard has won the season opener four times.


15: Bubba Pollard has a total of 15 Blizzard Series wins at Five Flags Speedway. Considering that there’s four races each year, that means that Pollard has won the equivalent of nearly four years of races.


18: Another record held by Bubba Pollard is setting fast time in the Blizzard Series races. He’s won a total of 18 fast qualifier awards. In the Southern Super Series, the pole award is worth $500.


18: Hey, how about Casey Roderick?  He’s won two of the last three Blizzard titles and has three career Blizzard wins Five Flags. In all, he has 11 top-10 runs in his last 12 Blizzard starts.


25: In all, Augie Grill has led some 25 Blizzard Series races. That’s the most of any driver, and so is his over lap led total.


35: Bubba Pollard has 35 top 10 finishes in 44 Blizzard Series starts.


51: Friday’s race will be streamed live on via a pay-per-view broadcast. Video tickets can be purchased today for $14.99 by clicking here.


54: Donnie Wilson is a former Southern Super Series champion and he has seven wins to his credit. However, at Five Flags Speedway he’s o-for-54 in the Blizzard Series with five second-place finishes. If Wilson wins on Friday then there would be one heck of a party on the front stretch.


98: Jeff Choquette led 98 laps in the second Blizzard Series race a year ago but lost the lead to Bubba Pollard with two laps to go. Choquette is a two-time Blizzard Series winner.


99: Guess who’s back? Casey Smith, a former Southern Super Series champion, is very much like Donnie Wilson having never won at Five Flags Speedway. Smith returns this season trying to take care of some unfinished business. Read the story on


125: The feature event will be 125 laps.


425: Connor Okrzesik completed 424 of 425 laps last year in the four Blizzard races. He logged two top 10 finishes and hopes to improve on that in 2018.


1,395: The most Blizzard Series laps led by one driver is Augie Grill with 1395. There were several races where Grill would lead 80 or 90 laps and not win the race.


6,000: This year’s Blizzard Series races will each pay $6,000 to win, an increase of $1,000 over last year’s top prize.


Sleepers: Five Flags is due for an upstart or upset Blizzard winner.  This year, many eyes are looking at youngster Chandler Smith or the defending Southern Super Series champion Stephen Nasse.


Blizzard Series Wins

Bubba Pollard 15

Augie Grill 9

Chase Elliott 5

Scott Carlson 5

Eddie Mercer 3

Casey Roderick 3

Johanna Long 2

Dave Mader, III 2

Daniel Hemric 2

Jeff Choquette 2


Blizzard Series Laps Led

1 Augie Grill 1395

2 Bubba Pollard 1265

3 Eddie Mercer 397

4 Jeff Choquette 299

5 Josh Hamner 236


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: / MoJo Photos

By the Numbers: 2018 Blizzard Series Season at Five Flags