One of the nation’s most prominent Super Late Model touring series, the ARCA Midwest Tour, will begin its 2018 season Sunday at Madison Int’l Speedway. To get you ready for the new season,’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the 2018 season in this edition of “By the Numbers.”


2: Nathan Haseleu and Andrew Morrissey are the only two-time winners of the Joe Shear Classic. The Joe Shear Classic ad Madison Int’l Speedway is the 2018 season opener for the ARCA Midwest Tour. 


4: Ty Majeski is the four-time defending series champion.  That should come to an end due to Majeski’s NASCAR XFINITY Series commitments, which is a big relief to the rest of the field as he has dominated the series for the past four years. 


5: The five car of Johnny Sauter is back to give it another try at Madison after winning in 2015.  The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion has five ARCA Midwest Tour wins.  


21: A total of 21 drivers were on the lead lap at the end of last year’s Joe Shear Classic 200. 


23: Andrew Morrissey could be one to watch on Sunday. Not only is he the defending race winner, but he has a solid track record at Madison.  In regional or touring series events he has 23 top-10 finishes on record and four on the Midwest Tour. 


26: Bubba Pollard will venture north seeking his first win in the series.  The Southeast standout won the Slinger Nationals last summer and has been ready for a return to Madison. 


32: A total of 32 cars are entered for the Joe Shear Classic.  


36: Sunday’s race honors Joe Shear who was a short track legend in the Midwest.  Shear was a two-time ARTGO champion and won 51 races along the way in the series.  He won at Oktoberfest five times and was the king of Rockford with eight National Short Track Championships.  


442: There have been 442 different drivers to race in the ARCA Midwest Tour. 


Glory Days: Johnny Sauter was an ASA star many years before his NASCAR Truck title.  In 2001 he won 10 of the 20 races he entered, but he didn’t win the ASA race at Madison.  Robbie Pyle claimed his first ASA victory in an exciting finish when leader Gary St. Amant and second place Mike Eddy took each other out in front of him.  Sauter was fifth that night. 


Talented Field: Former series champions Dan Fredrickson, Jonathan Eilen and Andrew Morrissey lead a sold field ready to do battle this weekend. Veterans Eddie Hoffman, Rich Bickle Jr. and many others lead the deep roster. 


Rolling Zehr: Dalton Zehr cam from 23rd to finish seventh last year at the Joe Shear Classic.  He went on to win two of the last four races and post nine top 10’s in 12 starts.  In almost any other year he would have been the champion, but Ty Majeski won six of the 12 races. 


Past Joe Shear Classic Winners

2017 Andrew Morrissey

2016 Ty Majeski

2015 Johnny Sauter

2014 Nathen Haseleu

2013 Travis Sauter

2012 Andrew Morrissey

2011 Ross Kenneth

2010 Steve Carlson

2009 Nathen Haseleu


ARCA Midwest Tour Champions

2017 Ty Majeski

2016 Ty Majeski

2015 Ty Majeski

2014 Ty Majeski

2013 Dan Fredrickson

2012 Jonathan Eilen

2011 Andrew Morrissey

2010 Steve Carlson

2009 Steve Carlson

2008 Nathan Haseleu

2007 Nathan Haseleu


Top Five ARCA Midwest Tour Winners 

Ty Majeski 19 

Dan Fredrickson 15

Steve Carlson 11

Travis Sauter 9

Nathan Haseleu 9


-By: Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: 2018 ARCA Midwest Tour Season