The 2018 APC United Late Model Series kicks off this Saturday night at the tight confines of Sunset Speedway (ON) with the Kleen-Flo 100. Here are some of the numbers you need to know as the series heads into the opening event of the season.


3: The number of series champions in the series first three seasons. Dale Shaw, Andrew Gresel and Brandon Watson have all raised the championship trophy and with all three drivers scheduled to be in the field on opening night, the championship battle will certainly be one to keep an eye on right from the beginning. Will the series see its first repeat champion in its history or continue the trend of a new champion each season?


4: When the green silk flies Saturday in Innisfill, Ontario it will officially begin the series’ fourth season. Through the first three seasons the series has seen three different champions and 10 different winners. The series continues to grow into one of the premier series across Canada and looks to only continue to rise as it was announced this past offseason that series title sponsor APC Auto Parts Centres had inked a three-year extension to remain the title sponsor of the series.


4: The number of track records 2017 series champion Brandon Watson holds. A new qualifying package and new shock package may present the opportunity for some of those records to fall, so keep an eye on the scoreboard during Bennett GM Pole Qualifying.


7: The number of full-time registered drivers who have never competed in an APC Series event. Will one of these drivers break through to claim a victory or the championship? There are several big names on this list and they include Todd Delisle, Jerry Artuso, Ryan Kimball, Jade Franklin, Jordan Sims, Jake Sheridan, and Tim Norris.


7: The number of 2017 Delaware Speedway Late Model champion Branden Verhoeven who will join the series full-time in 2018. Branden competed in a handful of races in 2017 but will go full-time in 2018 looking to continue on his success at his hometown track in 2017.


7: The number of wins all-time win leaders Brandon Watson and Andrew Gresel each have.


8: The number of free tires full-time drivers can receive if they compete in every event for 2018. The series unveiled a new tire program in the off season to help promote full-time competition and will reward those drivers who are able to compete in all races with up to eight free tires, a program everyone involved is very excited about.


9: The driver of the no. 9 machine, Brandon Watson, was simply put dominant in 2017 claiming 6 victories en route to his first series championship. Will it be more of the same in 2018 or will someone new rise up and take on the 9 machine?


9: The scheduled number of events for 2018. The schedule plays out pretty similar to last season in terms of tracks, however one change will see the Jukasa Motor Speedway event being run as a single event as opposed to the double race event in 2017. This will add tension to the points race with one less points paying event, and will add excitement to September 15 at Delaware Speedway for the championship event.


27: The 2018 season will start off the 27th event in series history, with previously mentioned 10 winners in the first 26 events.


130: The number of career starts between Andrew Gresel, Jamie Cox, Billy Schwartzenburg, Mat Box, and Shawn Chenoweth. These drivers have competed in every series race thus far and have all registered for full-time competition once again in 2018.


2015: The year the first APC Series event was held. The event was on May 23, 2015 and was won by Dwayne Baker, the series ran seven events that season with Dale Shaw claiming the championship.


All-Time APC United Late Model Series Wins List:
Andrew Gresel: 7 Wins
Brandon Watson: 7 Wins
Shawn Chenoweth: 3 Wins
Dale Shaw: 2 Wins
Jason Hathaway: 2 Wins
Cole Powell: 1 Win
Jess Kennedy: 1 Win
Dwayne Bake: 1 Win
Matt Pritiko: 1 Win
Andrew Kamrath: 1 Win


APC United Late Model Series Champions:
2017: Brandon Watson
2016: Andrew Gresel
2015: Dale Shaw


2018 Series Schedule:
May 19th – Sunset Speedway (Kleen-Flo 100)
June 2nd – Flamboro Speedway (Interstate Batteries 100)
June 16th – Peterborough Speedway (Hy-Grade Roofing 100)
June 29th – Delaware Speedway (Spectra Premium 100)
July 21st – Flamboro Speedway (London Recreational Racing 100)
August 4th – Sauble Speedway (Spira Beat the Heat 100)
August 11th – Sunset Speedway (AP Exhaust 100)
September 1st – Jukasa Motor Speedway (Canadian Short Track Nationals)
September 15th – Delaware Speedway (Great Canadian Race Presented by 100 Kellogg Place)
October 20th – 4th Annual Championship Banquet


Story by: Jamie Dyson
Photo credit: Dave Franks Photos

By the Numbers: 2018 APC United Late Model Season