This weekend the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series season gets underway with the first round of the 2016 season at Wisconsin International Raceway.’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the upcoming TUNDRA season “by the numbers.”


5: The number of points that separated 2015 champion Dalton Zehr and runner-up Ty Majeski.  They each won two races, but in the end Zehr won the finale at Jefferson Speedway as Majeski ended up eighth.  It was the second time the title came down to five points as Dennis Prunty took the honors by a five-point margin in 2012.


graphic mobile app 2016-16:  This is the sixth season for the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series.


10: Dalton Zehr is the all-time series wins leader with 10 victories.


11: Bobby Kendall in the No. 11 ride finished second in the season standings at WIR in 2015.  He’s one of the many drivers who will be looking to defend their turf come Saturday.


14: One young gun to keep an eye on is Austin Nason. After five wins in the Big 8 Series and two-runner up finishes in the points,  Nason in the No. 14 car looks for bigger things in the TUNDRA world.  Look for some good things from this Super Late Model rookie.


29: Dalton Zehr has made 29 of the 30 starts in the series and has finished in the top 10 some 26 times.  Zehr will be chasing a third-straight title in 2016.


32: The early reports from the TUNDRA Super Late Model series is that 32-cars will battle at the first race on Saturday. Wisconsin International Raceway will be the back drop for the third time in series history.  Majeski and Zehr have won the two races prior.


41.7%: Dan Lensing was third in points in 2015 and has finished in the top five 41.7-percent of the time when he races with the TUNDRA series.  He’s not won yet in the series, but his day could be coming in 2016.


51: The No. 51 car will have Steve Apel aboard and he’s the defending Red, White and Blue champion from last year, which is a historic series that has been going on for many years.  Apel will be one to watch.


91: Ty Majeski is the man to beat and seeing how this title slipped through his fingertips one year ago he might be more motivated to win the title out right.  He’s already won the Rattler 250 and the Speedweeks title leading into this season.


189: There have been 189 drivers that have raced in the series since it’s first year back in 2011.


New Series: Saturday will also be the birth of a new series.  TUNDRA will host a Sportsman series that will run all six race this year with the Super Late Models.


Past TUNDRA Champions 

2015 Dalton Zehr

2014 Dalton Zehr

2013 Nick Panitzke

2012 Dennis Prunty

2011 Frank Kreyer


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Schultz

By the Numbers: 2016 TUNDRA Super Late Model Series