Another season at ‘The Madhouse,” Bowman Gray Stadium, kicks off this Saturday with a 200-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified race.  To bring you up to date with the new season at the Winston-Salem, North Carolina oval,’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the race “By the Numbers.”


3: What a difference a year makes.  After Brandon Ward finished last in the 2014 200-lap season opener he returned to finish a solid third in the 200 in 2015.  Now he looks to break the Myers brothers’ win streak come Saturday.


8: Ronnie Clifton won eight consecutive Sportsman titles from 2002 to 2009.  No one has won more than five in a row in the Modifieds and that was done in the 50’s and 60’s.



10: The championship total for Tim Brown may never be topped.  It took many years to trump Ralph Brinkley’s eight titles at Bowman Gray.


11: Danny Bohn has 11 career wins at Bowman Gray Stadium and won the 2014 Modified championship.  Bohn snapped the long streak that Tim Brown, Burt Myers and Junior Miller had on the track’s top division.  Anytime he shows up he’s a contender.


22: Number of race events for the Modified this season counting the twin 50’s and 25’s.


65: Burt Myers has a career win total of 65 and six track championships.

68: This is the 68th season of racing at Bowman Gray Stadium. There have been over 1000 nights of racing.

83: Tim Brown, the driver of the No. 83, is the man with all the records at BGS.  He starts the 2016 season with 10 track championships in the Modified division and has 76 wins, which is the most at the historic track in the Modified division.


200: The first race of the season is the longest as the Modifieds will go 200-laps to kick off the year. Burt Myers has won the last two and four of the last five in this race.


The Big Time Active Club: 214 wins have been had by Tim Brown, Burt Myers and Junior Miller.  All are still active and will be racing on opening day. Not many short tracks around the county can say they have a cast like that.


Four Time: How about Chuck Wall? The Stadium Stock drivers seeks his fourth-straight championship in the division.


All in the Family: The Myers Family has 168 wins in the Modifieds with Burt having 65, Gary 38, Jason 25, Billy 22 and Bobby with 18.


Wide Open for the Sportsman:  There have been seven different champion in the last seven seasons.


Recent Years Hayes Jewelers 200 Winners  

2015 Burt Myers

2014 Burt Myers

2013 Tim Brown

2012 Burt Myers

2011 Burt Myers

2010 Tim Brown

2009 Tim Brown

-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Erin Hylton Photography

By the Numbers: 2016 Season Opener at Bowman Gray