With the 13th Annual North South Shootout upon us, Speed51.com takes a look at the history of the race “by the  numbers.”


graphic 51 tv north south shootout 20151 – Burt Myers has been waiting for the return to Concord ever since the race was moved in 2011.  Myers won two of the last three races run at Concord and he also won the KOMA Modified race back in the spring.


2 – Maine drivers have won the last two PASS Super Late Model races at the North-South Shootout. Ben Rowe won two years ago and Ryan Moore took the honor just a year back.  This will be the first PASS race called the North-South Shootout for them at Concord.  The series did run there in May and Zane Smith was the winner.


3 – The newly crowned three-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Champion Doug Coby has not run the North-South Shootout in several years.  Coby was third back in 2009 and he’s been away ever since.  He comes in as one of the favorites this year.


5 – Matt Hirschman is the man when it comes to the North-South Shootout.  He’s run all but one race and he has five wins.  Also he has nine top five runs and he’s even added an SK win as well.


11 – Chuck Hossfeld returns to run the Shootout for the 11th time.  He has posted seven top 10 finishes, however he’s only been in the top five twice.


13 – Jason Myers has been the North-South Shootout iron man having run all the races.  Myers has posted four top 10’s in the last five races.  His best was a fourth last season.


51 – For the second time, Speed51 TV will be offering pay-per-view coverage of the North South Shootout. If you’re unable to make it to Concord you can watch both days of action by buying a two-day video ticket for $34.99.


76 – The number famously piloted by the late John Blewett, III when he won his second North-South Shootout in 2005, which came at Concord Speedway.  Since the Modified racing world lost Blewett in 2007, the North-South Shootout has been run in his honor.


77 – Zane Smith enters the PASS portion of the North-South Shootout as the hottest driver having won three races, eight in the top five and all 10 in the top 10.


125 – The Modified race and the PASS Super Late Model race will each be 125 laps.


136 – Drivers have entered to run the North-South Shootout in the Modified portion since its first race back in 2003.


Long Haul Drivers – Washington states’ Garrett Evans is the long haul winner among the top two divisions racing this weekend at Concord.  The PASS Super Late Models will have Maine drivers in the field and the Modifieds will have some from New York, Connecticut and Pennsylvania.


Keep an Eye On: Guys like Cale Gale and Gary Putnam have recently scored wins in Modified action around the state of North Carolina.  Another one to watch is improving Mod runner Bobby Measmer Jr.  He’s a terror at Concord and could turn some heads and contend for the win.


-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

By the Numbers: 13th Annual North South Shootout