One of the longest running events in motorsports will be contested Saturday afternoon.  We take a look at the 68th Annual Race of Champions 250 at Lake Erie Speedway (PA) in this edition of “By the Numbers” on


1: Despite all of his success competing in Modifieds, Patrick Emerling has only finished in the top 10 once in the Race of Champions. This weekend with be his eighth try and his second-place finish in 2016 is his best. He has an average finish of 17.71.


5: Dutch Hoag was one of the best there was in the Race of Champions, but his five wins all came on the dirt. He won five times in 15 starts. He also had three other finishes in the top three.


5: Only five points separate point leader Chuck Hossfeld and second-place runner Andy Jankowiak for the season-long championship. Last week at the U.S. Open Hossfeld finished outside of the top five, thus setting up this close battle.


5: What else can we say about Matt Hirschman. He’s won five of the last six Race of Champion 250 events. Those five wins have come at three different tracks and along the way he’s posted three other podium finishes.


18: Last year 18 of the 27 drivers completed all 250 laps.



22: The driver in the No. 22 car Chuck Hossfeld is seeking his third win in the Race of Champions. Hossfeld has a total of eight podium finishes at the Race of Champions.


53: A total of 53 drivers have earned points this season in the Race of Champions Modified division.


60: In 1977 and 1979 the Race of Champions started 60 cars in the main event. It was not uncommon in the 80’s to see as many as 50 cars start the main event.


68: This will be the 68th year for the Race of Champions making it one of the longest continuing races in the country.


250: The feature event will be 250 laps.


1951: This was the first year the race was run back in 1951.


All in the Family: The Hirschman family has nine wins at the Race of Champion between the father-son team of Tony and Matt Hirschman. The family also owns seven other podium finishes at the Race of Champions.


All in the Family Part 2: Jan Leaty has run the Race of Champions event 24 times in the past. Now the two-time winner watches his son Mike Leaty run it and looks to improve on a second-place finish in 2017. The younger Leaty family member will be making the 39th start for the family in this race.


Race of Champions Winners:

ROC at Lake Erie

2017 Matt Hirschman


ROC at Oswego

2016 Matt Hirschman


ROC at Chemung

2015 Matt Hirschman


ROC at Oswego

2014 Chuck Hossfeld

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Matt Hirschman

2011 Zane Zeiner

2010 Tony Hirschman

2009 Billy Putney

2008 Tony Hirschman

2007 Jan Leaty

2006 TJ Potrzebowski

2005 Chuck Hossfeld

2004 Eric Beers

2003 Sege Fidanza

2002 Tim Mangus

2001 George Kent

2000 George Kent

1999 Chuck Hossfeld

1998 Sege Fidanza

1997 Tony Hirschman

1996 Jan Leaty


Run at Flemington

1995 John Blewett III

1994 Tony Siscone

1993 Bill Pauch

1992 Lenny Boyd


Run at Pocono

1991 Satch Worley

1990 Mike Stefanik

1989 Tony Hirschman

1988 Reggie Ruggiero

1987 George Brunnhoelzl

1986 George Kent

1985 Brett Bodine

1984 Brian Ross

1983 Jimmy Spencer

1982 Greg Sacks

1981 George Kent

1980 Richie Evans

1979 Richie Evans (Big Track)

1978 Geoff Bodine (Big Track)

1977 Maynard Troyer (Big Track)


Run at Trenton

1976 Maynard Troyer

1975 Ray Hendrick

1974 Fred DeSarro

1973 Richie Evans

1972 Geoff Bodine


Run at Langhorn

1971 Roger Treichler

1970 Mev Treichler

1969 Ray Hendrick

1968 Dutch Hoag

1967 Dutch Hoag

1966 Will Cagle

1965 Bill Slater


Run at Langhorn on Dirt

1964 Freddy Adams

1963 Dutch Hoag

1962 Frankie Schneider

1961 Freddy Adams

1960 Dutch Hoag

1959 Jim Delaney

1958 Jim Delaney

1957 Glenn Guthrie

1956 Dutch Hoag

1955 Pete Corey

1954 Frankie Schneider

1953 Ted Swaim

1952 Jim Delaney

1951 Hully Bunn


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit: / MoJo Photos

By the Number: 68th Annual Race of Champions 250