Halifax, NS –Twenty year old Cole Butcher (Porter’s Lake, NS) became the youngest driver ever to win the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour Championship tonight at Scotia Speedworld. Butcher took home the title in style winning the season finale Dartmouth Dodge 200 as he paced the field for 157 laps also earning him the Linde Most Laps Led award. Darren MacKinnon (Charlottettown, PE) finished the race in second with two-time Series champ Shawn Turple (Enfield, NS) completing the podium. Donald Chisholm (Antigonish, NS) narrowly missed out on a podium finish by coming home fourth with Dylan Gosbee (Cornwall, PE) finishing the season off strong in fifth.


Starting positions for the Dartmouth Dodge 200 were set by Atlantic Tiltload heat races which were won by Rookie contender Nevin Scott (Marshfield, PE), DJ Casey (Prospect, NS) and Turple respectively.


Butcher’s championship comes on the strength of consistency, finishing on the podium seven times and collecting three feature wins along the way. Butcher is the seventh different champion in the 16 year history of the series. 2015 Series champion Chisholm (Antigonish,NS) ends the season second in the point standings with MacKinnon in third.

Harry Ross White (Kenettcook, NS) takes home the 2016 Exide Batteries Rookie of the Year title, edging out his season long competition Nevin Scott (Marshfield, PE). Both drivers competed in all 12 races this season and put on a great rookie battle. Scott’s sixth place finish in the Dartmouth Dodge 200 earned him the King Freight Lines Future Winner Award after starting the race from the pole position.


The Upper Clements Park Maritime League of Legends kicked off the day’s festivities with a 50 lap feature. Cory Hall (Jolicure, NB) came home first, followed by Adam Meehan (Rawdon Gold Mines, NS) in second and 2016 Rookie of the Year recipient Craig MaDonald (Waverley, NS) in third. Waylon Farrell (Conception Bay South, NL) took home the 2016 championship for the series.


Butcher will officially receive his championship spoils at the 2016 Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour Year End Awards Banquet on November 12th, in Charlottetown, PE.


Pos No. Name Laps Sponsor Hometown
1 53 Cole Butcher 200 Atlantic Tiltload Porter’s Lake, NS
2 18 Darren MacKinnon 200 Shaw’s Towing Service Milton Station, PE
3 0 Shawn Turple 200 Dexter Construction Enfield, NS
4 89 Donald Chisholm 200 Keltic Ford Antigonish, NS
5 91 Dylan Gosbee 200 Greenfield Enterprises Cornwall, PE
6 81 Nevin Scott 200 Arcadia Construction Solutions Marshfield, PE
7 49 Harry Ross White 200 Archibald Drilling & Blasting Kennetcook, NS
8 5 Jonathan Hicken 200 Castle Building Centres Brudenell, PE
9 29 Greg Proude 200 Atlantic Dodge Dealers Springvale, PE
10 97 DJ Casey 200 Happy Harry’s Affordable Building Centres Prospect, NS
11 54 Jarrett Butcher 200 Top Construction Porter’s Lake, NS
12 99 Craig Slaunwhite 199 Archibald Drilling & Blasting Terence Bay, NS
13 32 Sarah McKay 199 AE McKay Builders Quispamsis, NB
14 11 Marty Prevost 198 Mega Enterprises Fall River, NS
15 51 Vance Hanes 195 Leonard’s Auto Kennetcook, NS
16 24 Steve Ross 181 AltaGas Waverley, NS
17 66 Daryl Mahar 160 K Hubley Woodworking Hubley, NS
18 21 Shawn Pierce 105 C&P Tack and Apparel Blockhouse, NS
19 8 Kent Vincent 90 Vector Aerospace Crapaud,PE
20 14 Terry Dougay 0 Right on Board Locksmith Albany, PE


-Pro Stock Tour Press Release. Photo credit: Cole Butcher Facebook

Butcher Makes Maritime Pro Stock Tour History at Scotia