Florida Speedweeks are now just a couple of weeks away from getting underway, with action at New Smyrna Speedway kicking off on Friday, February 9. With racing closing in, New Smyrna Speedway has released the first batch of pre-entries for its three headlining divisions for the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.


Headlining the current pre-entry list is the defending Super Late Model champion, Harrison Burton. The second-generation driver scored two victories in 2017, as well as four top-five finishes and five top-10 finishes in five races.


Joining Burton on the pre-entry list for the Super Late Models is Derek Griffith of Hudson, New Hampshire. Griffith, who will turn 21 on the first day of the World Series, finished eighth in points during last year’s World Series with two top-10 finishes. He’s also coming off his best career finish at the track, a second-place effort in the Red Eye 100.


300x250 New Smyrna World Series 2018Four drivers have pre-entered for Pro Late Model competition. Todd Stone of Vermont, Michael Clancy of Michigan, Peter McVey of Wisconsin, and Giovanni Bromante from New York. According to 51’s TheThirdTurn.com, Clancy, McVey and Bromante will all be making their first starts at the World Series this year, while Stone will be returning for his fifth World Series.


The ground-pounding Tour-type Modifieds of the Northeast will hit the track during the World Series for five nights of racing beginning on Monday, February 12.


Headlining the Modified entry list so far is 2017 Modified Touring Series champion Eric Goodale of Riverhead, New York as he returns to New Smyrna for his eighth World Series. The former John Blewett III Memorial winner has four Tour-type Modified victories at New Smyrna.


“Showtime” Jimmy Blewett of Howell, New Jersey is also on the current entry list. The Wall Stadium Speedway regular has 10 combined wins at the World Series between Tour-type Modified competition and the SK Modified division that no longer races during Speedweeks.


Joining Goodale and Blewett on the pre-entry list are Joseph Bertuccio III, Jeffrey Gallup, Kyle Ebersole, Al Emmarino and Kyle Trayner.


Three-time defending champion Ryan Preece has also made plans to head south to New Smyrna, as has the 2017 ISMA Supermodified champion Jon McKennedy, but so far neither driver has officially filed an entry with the race track.


With 16 days still to go until the official start of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing, the entry lists are expected to grow longer and deeper.  Race teams are encouraged to send in their entry forms prior to the race weekend.


Speed51.com will be on-hand for every night of racing during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing with live Trackside Now coverage and more.


-By Rob Blount, Speed51.com Southeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo credit: Speed51.com

New Smyrna Releases First Batch of World Series Entries