CONCORD, N.C. (July 15, 2014) – Captain Jeremy Brown of the Kannapolis Fire Department took the victory in the Guns and Hoses School Bus Slobberknocker during Week 6 of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Kason Plott and Tom Pistone also picked up wins, among others.

In the first responders school bus race, the fire department beat out local police and paramedics. Jeremy Brown, of the Kannapolis Fire Department, edged Ken Auten, of the Gastonia Fire Department, out of the lead on Lap 3. Brown, who finished second in last year’s First Responders School Bus Slobberknocker, cruised to the checkered flag, beating Auten by almost two school bus lengths. Tony Peeler, of the Kannapolis Police Department finished in third place while Dean Lowder, of the City of Albemarle Fire Department placed fourth. Rounding out the top-five was Gary Hatley, of the Concord Police Department.

It was a wild Legend Car Pro division race, and Plott, of Marietta, Ga., picked up his first win this season. He started in the front row and never looked back, leading every lap as chaos erupted behind him. The caution flew on the first lap for Trey Jarrell who spun in turn 4. The yellow waved again just after the restart as Zane Smith and William Byron made contact. Plott still led, followed by Steven Cantrell and Daniel Hemric, who made contact, bringing out the caution again. After several more incidents, Hemric and Cantrell got together again causing the yellow flag to fly.

On lap 12, Byron brought out the yellow for a wreck in turn 4, which also collected Trey Jarrell. Hemric made his way back through the pack and chose the outside lane on the final restart, which put him next to Plott. Plott was able to hold the defending series champ to second place, Michael Torres finished third, Zane Smith finished fourth and Jordan Black finished fifth.

Pistone overcame a race bounty and remained undefeated in the Security Force Legend Car Masters division, edging out John Sossoman. Pistone, a Mooresville, N.C. native, took the lead from Scott Whitaker on lap 8 and never looked back, extending his car length lead over Sossoman to almost eight lengths on lap 11. However, Sossoman was able to cut into Pistone’s lead towards the end. With the win, Pistone’s race bounty has increased to a $300 reward and four new race tires to any driver that defeats him in the next round.

Sossoman, who has been the closest driver this season to dethroning Pistone, finished just 0.874 seconds behind him at the end. Whitaker finished in third to record his third podium finish of the season. Robby Faggart moved into second place overall in the points standings with a fourth place finish. Rounding out the top-5 was Robbie Woodall, who tallied his fourth top-5 finish of the season.

Other winners included Joshua Brimecombe, of Concord, N.C., in the Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Semi-Pro division and Carson Ferguson, of Charlotte, N.C., in the Legend Car Young Lions division. Bandolero divisions were scratched due to rain in the area and will be run next week.

The 21st annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, July 22, with a Global Rallycross exhibition and autograph session, in addition to regular Legend Car and Bandolero racing divisions.

Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with preliminary action starting at 5:10 p.m. Opening ceremonies are at 6:45 p.m. and feature races are scheduled to conclude by approximately 10 p.m.

For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.

Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter at or become a Facebook fan at

The unofficial results:

Legend Car Young Lions Feature (14 laps): 1. Carson Ferguson; 2. JJ Haley; 3. Michael Womack; 4. Matt Thomas; 5. Austin Green; 6. Riley Herbst; 7. Dawson Cram; 8. Noah Gragson; 9. Jacob Heafner; 10. Ryan Millington; 11. Joseph Graf; 12. Scott Joy; 13. Stefan Parsons; 14. Mason Diaz; 15. Alex Murray; 16. Amber Burchette; 17. Carson Werner; 18. Seth Werner; 19. Christian Eckes.

Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (25 laps): 1. Tom Pistone; 2. John Sossoman; 3. Scott Whitaker; 4. Robby Faggart; 5. Robbie Woodall; 6. Chip Ferguson; 7. Bruce Silver; 8. Jan Ingram; 9. Shawn Geisel; 10. Jamie Smith; 11. Ron Mander.

Quaker Steak & Lube Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (21 laps): 1. Josh Brimecombe; 2. Josh Turner; 3. Connor Pyle; 4. Tyler Truex; 5. Tyler Audie; 6. Robby Lyons; 7. David Schilling; 8. Joe Gregory; 9. Craig Biryla; 10. Tyler Clary; 11. Jake Tretow; 12. Sheldon Crouse; 13. Dylan Faggart; 14. John Holleman; 15. Courtney Lefcourt; 16. Casey Brown; 17. Devin O’Connel; 18. Collin Jareb; 19. Enrique Limon.

Legend Car Pro Feature (25 laps): 1. Kason Plott; 2. Daniel Hemric; 3. Michael Torres; 4. Zane Smith; 5. Jordan Black; 6. Dakota Baggette; 7. Gregory Lang; 8. Evan Swilling; 9. Joey Padgett; 10. Pexton Saxton; 11. Jared Irvan; 12. Steven Cantrell; 13. William Byron; 14. Trey Jarrell.

-Charlotte Motor Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: CMS/Tami Pope

Brown Claims First Responders Bus Win at Summer Shootout