Briscoe, in the No. 77 Big Tine-Cunningham Motorsports Ford, drove away from Kyle Benjamin over the final 20 laps to secure the victory in his first Iowa attempt. Briscoe credited his win to changing his line on the track.


“We had a fourth- or fifth-place car early in the race…then I saw the guys running the top so I tried it and that’s when my car came to life,” Briscoe said.


“There was so much grip up there. Anytime I came off the top, I got really loose. The pit crew did their job and I finally figured out mine. It was awesome to get Cunningham and Big Tine two wins in a row and stretch our point lead.”


The outcome could have been much different however had Kyle Weatherman not scraped the wall to bring out the first of only two cautions on lap 87 of the 150-lap race. Weatherman, in the No. 10 St. Charles Glass Ford, was leading when he cut down a right-front tire and made contact with the turn three wall.


“It’s disappointing,” Weatherman said. “I felt like we had the car to beat tonight. Nothing I could do when the right-front went down. My guys on pit road did an excellent job getting us back out so we didn’t lose a lap, but the car wouldn’t handle after that.”


Weatherman nursed his wounded car home in ninth, one lap down.


Benjamin, in the No. 28 FEVR Chevrolet for Ranier Racing with MDM, finished second, about two-and-a-half seconds behind the winner.


“We just got too loose,” Benjamin said. “Didn’t know the track was going to swing that loose. The 77 was impressive tonight…he’s got it going on. The top really came in tonight but it’s hard to pass. You had to slide-job to pass, and I have to work on that.”


Fifteen-year-old Harrison Burton, in his career-first ARCA Racing Series start, finished third in the No. 8 DEX Imaging-Morton Buildings Chevrolet.


“I learned a lot tonight, which is what we set out to do,” Burton said. “I’ve never been on a track this fast before. I learned that you really have to keep your momentum up around here.”


Burton is the son of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Jeff Burton.


“We ran pretty well, but you’re never really satisfied until you’re holding up that trophy in victory lane. I guess you could say this is the best third-place finish I’ve got. This place is awesome. This has been such a cool opportunity. Running this race has really prepared me mentally for my next big race.”


Benjamin led the first 41 laps from the Menards Pole before Weatherman tracked him down and made the pass for the lead on lap 42. Weatherman held the lead for 46 laps with Briscoe challenging most of the way before his encounter with the wall. With Weatherman gone as an immediate threat, Briscoe took control from there, leading 63 laps overall en route to the Casey’s General Store victory lane.


Dalton Sargeant, in the No. 55 Toyota Racing Development-Windows 10 Toyota, finished fourth with Myatt Snider trailing in fifth in the No. 22 Original Louisiana Hot Sauce Ford.


Matt Kurzejewski flirted with the lead late in the race but sustained rear-end damage on the final restart when the cars around him stacked up. Kurzejewski held on to finish sixth in the No. 52 Ansell-Menards Toyota.


Cole Custer, subbing for John Wes Townley, finished seventh in the No. 05 Jive Communications Chevrolet. Hometown favorite Mason Mitchell, in the No. 78 Karl Chevrolet, changed a battery during the race and battled back from a lap down to finish eighth, the last car on the lead lap. Josh Williams finished 10th in the No. 6 Circle Track Warehouse Chevrolet.


Just two cautions slowed the race for 16 laps, resulting in a new race record at 1:14:42/105.403 mph.
The next race for the ARCA Racing Series will be the Sioux Chief PowerPEX® 200 presented by Jive at Lucas Oil Raceway July 22.


ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
Iowa Speedway, ABC Supply 150
Results, July 9, 2016

1 77 Chase Briscoe/Mitchell IN 150 Running
2 28 Kyle Benjamin/Easley SC 150 Running
3 8 Harrison Burton/Huntersville NC 150 Running
4 55 Dalton Sargeant/Boca Raton FL 150 Running
5 22 Myatt Snider/Charlotte NC 150 Running
6 52 Matt Kurzejewski/Mansfield PA 150 Running
7 05 Cole Custer/Ladera Ranch CA 150 Running
8 78 Mason Mitchell/W. Des Moines IA 150 Running
9 10 Kyle Weatherman/Wentzville MO 149 Running
10 6 Josh Williams/Port Charlotte FL 149 Running
11 15 Christian Eckes/Middletown NY 149 Running
12 27 A.J. Fike/Galesburg IL 147 Running
13 98 Brady Boswell/Watkinsville GA 146 Running
14 20 Tom Berte/New Berlin WI 146 Running
15 9 Thomas Praytor/Mobile AL 145 Running
16 25 Tom Hessert/Cherry Hill NJ 145 Running
17 2 Sarah Cornett-Ching/Summerland BC 145 Running
18 08 Will Kimmel/Sellersburg IN 144 Running
19 14 Dustin Knowles/Moody AL 141 Running
20 19 David Sear/La Jolla CA 139 Running
21 34 Mike Basham/Henryville IN 137 Running
22 48 Brad Smith/Shelby Township MI 137 Running
23 64 Mike Senica/Doylestown PA 131 Running
24 06 Con Nicolopoulos/Columbus MI 19 Out
25 0 Richard Hauck/Howell MI 18 Out
26 56 Josh Reeves/Bassett VA 16 Out
27 23 Chris Bailey/South Park PA 1 Out
28 00 Wayne Peterson/Pulaski TN 1 Out
69 Kevin Hinckle/Russellville KY DNS


-ARCA Press Release

-Photo Credit: ARCA

Briscoe Goes Back to Back in ARCA at Iowa