New Smyrna Speedway and DeSoto Speedway announced today that the Bright House Challenge Series for Super Late Models will return for 2015 with an expanded schedule sponsored again by digital cable, home phone and high-speed internet provider Bright House Networks.


The Series will expand from six races in 2014 to eight in 2015. with four races being held at both New Smyrna Speedway and DeSoto Speedway this season. The first Bright House race will be the traditional Ice Breaker 100 at DeSoto on February 8th. Also included in the schedule will be the annual Clyde Hart Memorial at New Smyrna, being run this year on Friday, July 3rd. All races will be for 100 laps with the exception of a 50-lap event at New Smyrna on March 28th.


The Bright House Series began in 2006 with B. J. McLeod of Wauchula the first champion. Tim Russell of Longwood won the title in both 2007 and 2008 while Orlando’s David Rogers took the championship four years in a row from 2009 through 2012. Travis Cope of Weeki Wachee won the title in 2013.


Last year, Riverview driver Joe Boyd won the Ice Breaker 100 at DeSoto to take the first Bright House Challenge race of the season. Boyd held on to the point lead all year until the final race, also at DeSoto, when Jesse Dutilly of Bradenton won the event and went on to claim the 2014 championship by just three points over Boyd.


Stephen Nasse of Pinellas Park won twice at New Smyrna on April 5th and September 27th while other Bright House events were won by Steven Wallace of Mooresville, NC in the Clyde Hart Memorial New Smyrna on July 3rd and by T. J. Duke at DeSoto on May 10th.


Following Dutilly and Boyd in the final 2014 points chase were Rich Clouser of Deland, Anthony Sergi of Geneva and Lakeland’s George Gorham, Jr. Completing
the top-ten in 2014 points were Jake Perkins, Michael Atwell, Duke, Rogers, and Jeff Scofield. A total of 56 drivers took part in the six Bright House races run during the year.



February 8 – DeSoto Speedway (Ice Breaker 100)
March 28 – New Smyrna Speedway (50 Laps)
April 11 – DeSoto Speedway (100 Laps)
May 30 – New Smyrna Speedway (100 Laps)
June 13 – DeSoto Speedway (100 Laps)
July 3 – New Smyrna Speedway (Clyde Hart Memorial – 100 Laps)
September 26 – New Smyrna Speedway (100 Laps)
October 10 – DeSoto Speedway (100 Laps)


-Bright House Challenge Series Press Release. Photo credit:

Bright House Challenge Series Expands to Eight Races in 2015