Columbus, OH — Travis Braden sloshed his way to victory in Saturday night’s Jim Nuckles Memorial event at Columbus Motor Speedway. The final staging of the track’s most prestigious event in honor of long time track owner who passed in late 2013 was scheduled to run 75-laps but when a drenching rain shower set in over the central Ohio oval with 47-laps completed it was over. The Wheeling, WV native started eighth in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series late model division as the evening’s fastest qualifier and was on the move from the outset. Taking up residence in the outside lane of the third-mile paved oval Braden picked off the competitors one-by-one. The winning pass came as lap-36 went up on the NASCAR scoreboard and Braden powered around the outside of early point man, Cody Robinson. Donnie Hill was next around Robinson as he set out after the eventual winner. Running nearly identical lap times, the lead duo ran only a car length apart as a light sprinkle began but when the caution flew for a spin by Bill Cantley the skies opened up. Declared official at that juncture, Braden picked up his second career Nuckles Memorial event having done so in 2011 previously. Hill was second followed by Robinson, Kyle Purvis and Chad Pendleton.


Shane Shirk claimed the 40-lap Columbus modified feature Nuckles Memorial event in convincing fashion outdistancing Terry Humphrey, Jeremy Menninger, Sean MacNealy and Gary Zink.


George Lindsay was crowned the sport stock Memorial champion in a dramatic three wide battle at the checkered flag. Lindsay literally slid sideways across the stripe narrowly besting Ralph Vinson, Chris Meier, Bruce Holmes and James Harding.


Devin Stansbury annexed an exciting 25-lap crazy compact finale over Aaron McDole, Corey Kyer, Michael Robison and Frank Hreha.


-Columbus Motor Speedway Press Release

-Photo Credit: Columbus Motor Speedway

Braden Takes the Final Jim Nuckles Memorial at Columbus