SOUTH BOSTON, VA — Matt Bowling is on a roll at South Boston Speedway. Bowling, trying to build his lead in the chase for the NASCAR Whelen All American national title and the South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division title, took the lead from pole winner Mark Wertz on the 41st circuit and fended off his challengers in a 25-lap dash to the finish to win Saturday night’s Southern Virginia Higher Education Center NASCAR Whelen Late Model 100 at South Boston Speedway.


Saturday night’s win was Bowling’s second in his last three starts at South Boston Speedway and was his sixth of the season at the .4-mile oval.


Bobby McCarty of Summerfield, North Carolina finished second, 1.316 seconds behind Bowling with Josh Oakley of Rougemont, North Carolina, Brandon Pierce of Oak Ridge, North Carolina and Wertz, of Chesapeake, Virginia completing the top five finishers.


Nick Smith, Peyton Sellers of Danville, Virginia, Greg Edwards of Poquoson, Virginia, Danny Willis Jr. of South Boston, Virginia and Alex Brock of Chesterfield, Virginia rounded out the top 10 finishers in the 18-car field.


Throckmorton, Jones Split Limited Sportsman Twinbill

Joey Throckmorton of South Boston, Virginia and fellow South Boston resident Mike Jones split wins in Saturday night’s pair of 25-lap NASCAR Limited Sportsman Division races.


Throckmorton, the division points leader, started third in the opener and took the lead on lap 7 after Daniel Moss encountered an issue that resulted in a caution flag on lap 6. He held the lead from there and sped to a 2.665-second win over Jones, with Tommy Peregoy of Clarksville, Virginia, David Latour, Jr. of Clemmons, North Carolina and Bob Davis of Thaxton, Virginia rounding out the top five finishers.


There was quite a battle for the top spot in the nightcap, with five cars, at times, battling for the lead. Jones was able to gain a slight edge after taking the lead from Peregoy on lap 14, and with others battling each other for position, Jones was able to speed to a .910-second win over Latour, with Peregoy, Throckmorton and Colin Garrett of South Boston, Virginia rounding out the top five finishers.


There were four lead changes among three drivers in the race.


Throckmorton’s win in the opening race marked his ninth win of the season. Jones’ win in the nightcap marked his second win of the season.


Layne Earns Sweep Of Pure Stock Division Twinbill

Johnny Layne of Nathalie, Virginia earned a sweep of Saturday night’s pair of 15-lap races for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division with the help of the disqualification of two of the twinbill’s top finishers.


Layne took the lead from Ryan Creed on the third lap and sprinted to victory in the opening race, edging apparent runner-up Jordan Pickrel by 1.065-second.


Scott Phillips of Halifax, Virginia took the checkered flag first in the nightcap with Pickrel as the apparent runner-up and was the apparent fifth-place finisher in the first race. However, both drivers were disqualified from both races as both of their cars failed to pass a post-race technical inspection by track NASCAR officials.


As a result of the disqualification of Pickrel and Phillips, Bruce Mayo of Halifax, Virginia was awarded second place in the first race, with Cody Bell of Gladys, Virginia finishing third. Jimmy Wade of Halifax, Virginia and Creed, of Reidsville, North Carolina, rounded out the top five finishers in the first race.


In the second race, Bell was awarded second place, with Mayo getting third place, Tyler Conner of Scottsburg, Virginia being awarded fourth place and Wade completing the top five finishers.


Layne’s win was his sixth of the season, while Phillips’ win was his first of the season.


Garnett Wins Hornets Division Race

Todd Garnett of Drakes Branch, Virginia started on the pole, fended off a couple of challenges and drove to victory in the 15-lap Budweiser Hornets Division race.


Kenny Mills Jr. of Alton, Virginia finished second with Michael Farmer of Halifax, Virginia, Frank Wagner of Nathalie, Virginia and Kevin Currin of Chase City, Virginia completing the top five finishers.


Garnett’s win was his third of the season.


Blair, Hale Winners In Legendary Ford Flatheads Series Race

A 20-lap race for the competitors in the regional touring Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Series rounded out the night’s action at South Boston Speedway with Bill Blair taking the win in the Modified Division and Harry Hale taking top honors in the Sportsman Division ranks.


Next Race At South Boston Speedway

The stars and cars of the PASS South Super Late Series will return to South Boston Speedway on Saturday night August 13, with the 7 p.m. running of the PASS Super Late Model 150 racing program.


A 150-lap race for the PASS South Super Late Models will share the spotlight with twin 75-lap races for the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model Stock Car Division competitors.


-South Boston Speedway Press Release

-Photo Credit: South Boston Speedway Twitter

Bowling Continues SoBo Dominance in 100 Lapper