Saturday night was Mainely Motorsports fan appreciation night at Wiscasset Speedway.  Steve Perry, the face of Mainely Motorsports, was on hand for the event and received major praise from track promoter Ken Minott.


“The whole Maine racing community owes him a debt of gratitude for his coverage of the sport,” said Minott.


Perry spent the evening speaking with drivers and fans, as well as interviewing drivers in victory lane.


“I am always welcomed with open arms here,” said Perry.  “The staff is amazing.  It is an honor to sponsor this race event.”


To see Perry and his coverage of race events head to Mainely Motorsports TV, which airs on Time Warner Cable Channel 9 on Wednesday’s and Friday’s at 8:00 PM.  The show is also available on Time Warner’s Video on Demand.


The Amsoil Nelcar Legends were racing at Wiscasset on Saturday, as well as regular Group One racing divisions, including Outlaw Mini’s, Prostocks, New England Four Cylinder Prostocks, and Napa Super Streets.


Prior to race time there was an opportunity for fans to go out onto the track and meet drivers, and get autographs.  There were also kids bicycle races on the track, and the winners received trophies.  There were numerous give-a-ways to celebrate Mainely Motorsports Fan Appreciation Night as well.


Additionally, June’s Four Season Synthetic Driver of the Month was announced during intermission.  The June Driver of the Month is Napa Super Street Driver, Shawn Austin.


Austin said, “I appreciate all the fans coming out every week.  We are here to have a good time.  I want to thank all the drivers.  They are a fun group of people to race with.”


The Spotlighted feature of the week was a twenty-five lap Amsoil Nelcar Legends Feature.  Matthew Bourgoine of the #38 was back at Wiscasset with the hope of winning yet another race.  The current point leader in the series is Bourgoine.  Bourgoine’s goal is to become the Legends point champion for the third year in a row.


Bourgoine said, “We are halfway through the season, and I have won 12 out of 15 races.  A lot can happen between now and the end of the season though.”


When the Legend race began, Bourgoine was in the eighth starting position.  He steadily gained ground on the track, and by lap two passed the #8 of Matt Chagnot for third.  Starting at the pole, and in the lead, was the #33 of Alan Smith.  Smith was second in points, behind Bourgoine.  In second was the #70 of Tylar Braunschweig.  Braunschweig was forth in points heading into the race.


During lap four, Bourgoine headed to the inside and passed Braunschweig for second.  Coming up from his tenth starting position was Bob Weymouth of the #399.  Weymouth passed Braunschweig on the inside of turn two during lap five for third.  The following lap, Bourgoine passed Smith on the outside of turn four for the lead.  Weymouth then passed Smith for second.  Braunschweig passed Smith on turn four during lap six, and reclaimed third.  However, the #96 of Wyatt Alexander passed Braunschweig on turn two during lap nineteen to take the third spot.


Bourgoine drove his Corinna Auto Body Legends car over the finish line in first.  Weymouth placed second.  Rounding out the top-three was Wyatt Alexander.



Wiscasset Speedway resumes racing action, July 19, 2014 with its group two lineup of divisions: Late Model Sportsman, Strictly Street, Thunder 4’s and Mini Trucks.  The flex race of the week is a New England Four Cylinder Prostock feature, which is not being run for points.




  1.  #38 Mathew Bourgoine, Newport
  2.  #399 Bob Weymouth, Topsham
  3.  #96 Wyatt Alexander, Ellsworth
  4.  #70 Tylar Braunschweig, West Newfield
  5.  #84 Matt Grant, Windham
  6.  #33 Alan Smith, Lincoln
  7.  #8 Matt Chagnot, Derry NH
  8.  #78 Ivan Kaffel, Raymond
  9.  #17 Terry Kirk, Durham
  10.  #2 Darren Johnson, Pembroke NH
  11.  #85 Cole Harrison, Durham
  12.  #13 Nate Tribbet, Richmond
  13.  #113 Casey Nash, Richmond


  1.  #20 Shawn Kimball, Augusta
  2.  #19 Zach Audet, Skowhegan
  3.  #10 Jimmy Childs. Leeds
  4.  #13 Nate Tribbet, Richmond
  5.  #9 George Fortin, Greene
  6.  #81 Edward Archer Jr, Clinton
  7.  #8 Calvin Rose Jr, Turner
  8.  #41 Dixon Smith, Sidney
  9.  #06 Ryan Glover, Mexico


  1.  #9 Dylan Turner, Freedom
  2.  #15X Scott Chubbuck, Bowdoin
  3.  #07 Bill Penfold, Oxford
  4.  #32 Mike Orr, Wiscasset
  5.  #28 Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich
  6.  #96 Wyatt Alexander, Ellsworth
  7.  #77 Maggie Ferland, Auburn
  8.  #17 Gary Thorne, Sidney
  9.  #15 Nick Hinkley, Wiscasset
  10.  #19 John Rideout, Washington
  11.  #39 James Osmond, Woolwich
  12.  #5 Bill Pinkham, Wiscasset


  1.  #38 Ryan Hayes, Jefferson
  2.  #12 Dave Patten, Westbrook
  3.  #98 Kamren Knowles, West Gardiner
  4.  #8 Craig Dunn, Strong
  5.  #14 Bob Patten, Westbrook
  6.  #27 Jacob Hensbee, Whitefield
  7.  #35 Nathan McWilliams, Lewiston
  8.  #55 John Shorey, Alna
  9.  #9X Brooke Knowles, West Gardiner
  10.  #24 Jeff Prindall, Lisbon Falls
  11.  #2 James Bailey, Alna
  12.  #7 Jerry Bailey, Alna
  13.  #99 Cameron Folsom, Augusta


  1.  #2 Josh Bailey, Wiscasset
  2.  #05 James Osmond, Wiscasset
  3.  #61 Shawn Austin, Norridgewock
  4.  #48 Dan Nessmith, Wiscasset
  5.  #06 Chuck Gray, Wiscasset
  6.  #1 Adam Chadbourne, Woolwich
  7.  #8 Kevin Morse, Woolwich

-Wiscasset Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Pete’s Picks

Bourgoine Scores 12th Legends Win of 2014 at Wiscasset