Barre’s own Jim “Boomer” Morris claimed his second feature win of the season in dominant fashion during the final Thursday (August 28) night of the 2014 season presented by Aubuchon Hardware. Morris held off a late charge by Jason Allen for the 50-lap win.


Morris started on the pole of the 26 car Late Model field and built a lead early in the race before Allen broke away from the pack and began to chase him down. With just under two laps to go, Allen reached Morris’ bumper but couldn’t get by. Current point leader Derrick O’Donnell recovered from an accident in the consolation event to start 14th on the field and worked his way to third. It was O’Donnell’s sixth straight podium finish.


Emily Packard and second place point man Nick Sweet rounded out the top five. Phil Scott, Shawn Fleury, Dave Pembroke, John Donahue, and Jason Corliss completed the top ten. The caution free event saw lots of side-by-side action.


Mike Billado of Essex scored his third Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen feature win of the season. He led Joe Steffen and Christopher Pelkey to the line in the 35-lap caution free event. Doug Crowningshield and Jeff Bousquet took top fives. Brendan Moodie, Dylan Payea, point leader Jason Woodard, Joel Hodgdon and Cameron Ouellette put up top ten efforts.


The Perry brothers of Hardwick finished one, two in the Allen Lumber Street Stock caution plagued 25 lap feature. Jamon earned his first career win over Jadon. The duo finished just ahead of Will Hennequin on the podium, who recovered from being involved in an early caution. Jamie Davis and Kyle Streeter completed the top five. Marcel Gravel took sixth, while Garry Bashaw was the highest finishing driver from the top five in the point standings in seventh. Michael Gay, Keith Fortier and Alan Maynard completed the top ten. The top three in the Allen Lumber Street Stock standings, Tommy Smith, Bunker Hodgdon and Donny Yates all failed to complete the event, finishing 19th, 17th, 18th respectively.


The 2014 Thunder Road Late Model “King of the Road” title concludes this Sunday, August 31 with the 36th annual Coca-Cola Labor Day Classic. The Late Model Champion will be crowned while the Tigers and Street Stocks will also be in action. Post time is 1:30pm.


Aubuchon Hardware Night
Thunder Road – Barre, VT
Thursday, August 28, 2014

Late Model Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown

1. Boomer Morris (13vt) Barre, VT

2. #Jason Allen (29vt) Barre, VT

3. Derrick O’Donnell (60vt) N. Haverhill, NH

4. Emily Packard (9me) E. Montpelier, VT

5. Nick Sweet (88vt) Barre, VT

6. Phil Scott (14vt) Middlesex, VT

7. Shawn Fleury (1vt) Middlesex, VT

8. Dave Pembroke (44vt) Middlesex, VT

9. John Donahue (26vt) Graniteville, VT

10. Jason Corliss (66vt) Barre, VT

11. Brooks Clark (68vt) Fayston, VT

12. Brett Gervais (11nh) Island Pond, VT

13. Trampas Demers (85vt) S. Burlington, VT

14. Cody Blake (99vt) Barre, VT

15. Scott Dragon (16vt) Colchester, VT

16. #Eric Badore (4vt) Milton, VT

17. Eric Chase (40vt) Milton, VT

18. Kyle Pembroke (27vt) Montpelier, VT

19. #Josh Demers (10vt) Montpelier, VT

20. Joey M. Laquerre (51vt) E. Montpelier, VT

21. Ricky Roberts (3vt) E. Barre, VT

22. David Whitcomb (25vt) Essex Jct., VT

23. Tom Estes (30vt) Barre, VT

24. Terry Reil (11vt) E. Barre, VT

25. Mark Norris (22me) Farmington, ME

26. Joey Laquerre (15vt) East Montpelier, VT


Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown

1. Mike Billado (8) Essex, VT

2. Joe Steffen (00) Grand Isle, VT

3. Christopher Pelkey (64) S. Barre, VT

4. Doug Crowningshield (14) Barre, VT

5. Jeff Bousquet (44) Worcester, VT

6. Brendan Moodie, Jr. (94) Wolcott, VT

7. Dylan Payea (7) Milton, VT

8. Jason Woodard (68) Waterbury Ctr., VT

9. Joel Hodgdon (36) Craftsbury, VT

10. Cameron Ouellette (90) Barre, VT

11. #Derrick Calkins (4) Milton, VT

12. #Caleb Nelson (07) Moretown, VT

13. Scott Coburn (1) Barre, VT

14. Darrell Morin (17) Burlington, VT

15. Eric Johnson (20) Randolph Ctr. VT

16. Mike Martin (01) Craftsbury Cmn, VT

17. Brendan Moodie, Sr. (58) Wolcott, VT


Allen Lumber Street Stocks Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown
1. Jamon Perry (62) Hardwick, VT

2. Jaden Perry (92) Hardwick, VT

3. Will Hennequin (47) Morrisville, VT

4. Jamie Davis (43) Wolcott, VT

5. Kyle Streeter (37) Waitsfield, VT

6. Marcel J. Gravel (86) Wolcott, VT

7. Garry Bashaw (4) Lincoln, VT

8. Mike Gay (3) So. Burlington, VT

9. Keith Fortier (35) Hinesburg, VT

10. Alan Maynard (10) Fairfax, VT

11. Josh Vilbrin (07) Northfield, VT

12. Jennifer Getty (25) Cambridge, VT

13. Ken Stridsberg (6) Berlin, VT

14. Matthew Deshong (39) Waterbury, VT

15. Tyler Austin (5) E. Calais, VT

16. Patrick Tibbetts (48) Barre, VT

17. Bunker Hodgdon (83) Hardwick, VT

18. Donny Yates (05) N. Montpelier, VT

19. Tommy Smith (50) Williamstown, VT

20. #Thomas Merchant (38) Eden Mills, VT

21. #Travis Streeter (61) Waitsfield, VT

22. Justin Blakely (17) Barre, VT

23. Gary Mullen (29) Tunbridge, VT

24. Jeremy Colson (44) S. Royalton, VT

25. Joe Fecteau (75) Hardwick, VT

26. Brandon Gray (00) E. Thetford, VT

27. Paul Grant (46) E. Calais, VT

Rough Rider Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown

1. (42) Paul Dudley, Waitsfield, VT, 1, 1, 2

2. (49) Kevin LaForest, Barre, VT, 2, 2, 4

3. (56) Chris LaForest, Barre, VT, 3, 3, 6

4. (Bee) Brent Tewksbury, Barre, VT, 4, 4, 8


– Thunder Road International Speedbowl press release and photo –

“Boomer” Takes Season’s Final T-Road Thursday Checkered Flag