MIDDLEBOURNE, WV – Scott Bloomquist picked up his third career Hillbilly Hundred win on Sunday night at Tyler County Speedway. Bloomquist led all 100 laps and scored his 13th LOLMDS win of the season, worth $25,000.


Bloomquist survived the event, despite a broken water pump that nearly derailed his victory. For most of the last half of the race, smoke from Bloomquist’s car became more noticeable under each caution flag as he barely made it to the finish. Jonathan Davenport finished in second, followed by Brandon Sheppard. Completing the top five were home state drivers Mike Benedum and Tim Dohm.


In Lucas Oil Victory Lane Bloomquist said he was fortunate to make it to the finish line. “We either lost the water pump or the front of it broke off. The engine was running hot, and under those caution flags, I was hoping they would hurry up because I knew time was running out on us. It’s a good thing Andy Durham builds some stout engines because the temperature was way past what we wanted.”


Davenport stayed right with Bloomquist for the entire race, but with everyone running the bottom Davenport tried to step up to the outside after a late-race restart and quickly realized that wasn’t going to work. “I thought there might be enough grip to get by Scott, but I had to quickly get down low to save the spot. We have had a good weekend with two wins and a second.”


Sheppard tried the outside several times during the mid-part of the race. “I don’t think anyone had any tires left after it was over. I could tell Earl’s [Pearson] and McCreadie’s tires were in bad shape and they may not last. Then they both got flats.”


Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, Devin Moran, Michael Lake and Jason Covert.


In preliminary action, Earl Pearson Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 44 entrants, with a lap of 12.653 seconds. Zack Dohm set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 12.722 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr., Michael Lake, Scott Bloomquist, and Brandon Sheppard won their respective heat races. Darrell Lanigan and Mason Zeigler won their respective B-Mains.


Feature Finish (100 Laps):

1 2 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $25,900
2 5 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $12,500
3 4 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $8,200
4 15 1M Mike Benedum Salem, WV $5,000
5 12 6t Tim Dohm Charleston, WV $3,500
6 9 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $3,450
7 10 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $3,050
8 14 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH $1,750
9 3 27 Michael Lake Uniontown, PA $1,500
10 19 72 Jason Covert York Haven, PA $1,400
11 13 4B Jackie Boggs Grayson, KY $1,300
12 8 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $1,950
13 17 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,925
14 21 57 Kyle Thomas Pennsboro, WV $1,200
15 1 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $2,075
16 24 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $1,250
17 23 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $1,825
18 26 1H Jared Hawkins Fairmont, WV $1,100
19 11 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $1,875
20 18 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA $1,050
21 6 13 Jacob Hawkins Fairmont, WV $1,025
22 20 5* Shane Hitt Buckhannon, WV $1,000
23 16 28c Tyler Carpenter Parkersburg, WV $1,000
24 7 87 Derek Doll Greenwood, WV $1,000
25 22 14 Corey Conley Wellsburg, WV $1,000
26 25 8 Daniel Hill Morgantown, WV $1,000


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release. Photo credit: Heath Lawson

Bloomquist Wins $25,000 Despite Broken Water Pump