The inaugural Gateway Dirt Nationals took place on Friday and Saturday night at The Dome at America’s Center in St. Louis, Missouri.  $20,000 was on the line on Saturday night for the Dirt Late Models, and it was the “Dirt Track Dominator” Scott Bloomquist who took home the big check after letting the win slip away in the late stages of Friday’s feature race.


Bloomquist led all 40 laps in Saturday’s feature from the pole, holding off Don O’Neal on a rough race track to take the win.  Brandon Sheppard finished third after starting ninth.


Dirt Mods 300x300 (1)Tommie Seets Jr. held off Brent Mullins and Bobby Bittle to win Saturday’s $10,000 A-Main for the Modifieds.


Bloomquist told that the track was a little rough and that his car was “like a bucking bull out there,” but overall he said he loved the event.


“It was really phenomenal racing all weekend,” Bloomquist told  “You can really hear the echo, the crowd.  It’s nice.  It’s real bright.  Just the whole feel of the place was fun and enjoyable.  The temperatures were great.  It’s awful cold outside but it’s awful nice in here.”


Saturday’s Late Model A-Main was slowed by seven cautions.  13 of the 22 starters finished the 40-lap race on the lead lap.


-By Rob Blount, Southeast Editor – Twitter: @RobBlount

-Photo Credit: Heath Lawson Photo


40-Lap Dirt Late Model Saturday A-Main

Unofficial Results

Pos. Driver
1 Scott Bloomquist
2 Don O’Neal
3 Brandon Sheppard
4 Bobby Pierce
5 Hunter Rasdon
6 Chad Zobrist
7 Billy Moyer Jr.
8 Nick Hoffman
9 Ryan Unzicker
10 Justin Kay
11 Gordy Gundaker
12 Joey Coulter
13 Kent Robinson
14 Casey Roberts
15 Michael Kloos
16 Jason Feger
17 Tony Jackson Jr.
18 Chris Simpson
19 Shannon Babb
20 Devin Moran
21 Darrell Lanigan
22 Kevin Weaver



30-Lap Dirt Modified Saturday A-Main

Unofficial Results

Pos. Driver
1 Tommie Seets Jr.
2 Brent Mullins
3 Bobby Bittle
4 Jeff Leka
5 Tyler Nicely
6 Kyle Steffens
7 Matt Cooper
8 David Wietholder
9 Jeffrey Ledford
10 Kenny Wallace
11 Tommy Sheppard
12 Mike McKinney
13 Michael Long
14 Todd Shute
15 Jim Black
16 Robbie Eilers
17 Tyler Droste
18 Timothy Culp
19 Trent Young
20 Christopher Arnold
21 Mike Harrison
22 Nick Hoffman


Bloomquist, Seets Jr. Score Historic Wins in the Dome