BROWNSTOWN, IN (September 20, 2014) – Scott Bloomquist continued his hot streak this month by winning the 35th Annual Jackson 100 on Saturday Night at Brownstown Speedway. Bloomquist steered his Ole Smoky Moonshine, Andy Durham-powered, Sweet-Bloomquist car to victory lane in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event, earning a $20,000 pay day.


Bloomquist took the lead for good on the 11th lap from Steve Francis and led the rest of the way for the victory. Don O’Neal, who like Bloomquist, was looking for his fifth win in the crown jewel event, came home in second. O’Neal has now retaken the LOLMDS Championship Points lead by 35 points over Jimmy Owens, who finished 12th. Chris Simpson charged from 14th to finish third. New track record holder, Mike Marlar was fourth followed by 17th place starter, Dale McDowell.


“Brownstown is one of my favorite race tracks, without a doubt. It’s a lot of fun to come up here and race. They have changed the track here in the last year and it seems to make for better racing. I first came here in the late 80’s and didn’t make this race the first time I tried. As we came back year after year, we kept getting better and better. We have a lot of fans up this way and hope everyone enjoyed the show tonight”, stated Bloomquist in victory lane.


“We had a good race with Steve [Francis] there early on. We went back-and-forth a few times until I was finally able to pull away from him. Some of those cautions were pretty timely, and they cleared out the track. Our car was just fantastic on the restarts. The race track stayed really good all night. Our car could pretty much run where I wanted it to. The top was dominant early on and as the race wore on, I could run high, low, or the middle. We have had a great run here lately winning the World 100 and now the Jackson 100. It’s on to another of my favorite places to run at in Knoxville, Iowa. I was born in Iowa and that race has been a special race from day one and everybody will know that we were there,” said the winner, afterwards.


A terrific battle went down to the end between O’Neal and Simpson as O’Neal just edged out the Iowa driver for the spot. “We had a really good car, but the Zero car is on a roll. We didn’t have anything for him. We are really happy though with second and it’s been a good night overall. We got the points lead back, but there are still four races to go. We have to be on top of our game, because I know the 20 team will be as well,” said the driver of Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil, Clint Bowyer Racing, Barry Wright Race Cars number 5.


Simpson, in his best ever run at Brownstown, was pleased with his effort. “This is a brand new car. We have only been here three times and this is our best run. To finish that strong with these guys, man that’s great. Next week they will be on my home turf at Knoxville and we will give it our best shot to come home with a win there,” said the driver of the Cheap Cars. Simpson Farms, Five Star Race Shop Service #32.


Completing the top ten were Earl Pearson Jr., Dennis Erb Jr., Jonathan Davenport. Gregg Satterlee and Steve Francis.


In preliminary action, Mike Marlar set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 47 entrants, with a lap of 13.263 seconds. Jonathan Davenport set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.370 seconds. Brad Neat, Steve Casebolt, Steve Francis, and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Dale McDowell and Jason Hughes won their respective B-Mains.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on and


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release.  Photo Credit:



1. Scott Bloomquist

2. Don O’Neal

3. Chris Simpson

4. Mike Marlar

5. Dale McDowell

6. Earl Pearson Jr.

7. Dennis Erb Jr.

8. Jonathan Davenport

9. Gregg Satterlee

10. Steve Francis

11. Steve Casebolt

12. Jimmy Owens

13. John Blankenship

14. Scott James

15. Jason Papich

16. Eddie Carrier Jr.

17. Brad Neat

18. Jason Hughes

19. Jared Landers

20. Dustin Linville

21. Cody Mahoney

22. Jeremy Hines

23. John Gill

24. Jeep VanWormer

25. Michael Chilton


Feature Finish (100

Bloomquist Scores Record Win at Brownstown