WHEATLAND, MO – Scott Bloomquist led all 45 laps to win the 5th Annual Cowboy Classic on Thursday night at Lucas Oil Speedway. The 54-year-old three-time, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion picked up his third series win of the season and the 596th of his career.


Bloomquist had to hold off current Lucas Oil MLRA points leader, Chad Simpson after a late-race caution for the victory. Hudson O’Neal finished in third followed by 16th starting Mike Marlar and 18th starting Brian Shirley.


Bloomquist took the lead at the start of the event. Jimmy Owens quickly moved into the second position. The two East Tennessee veterans then pulled away from a solid race for third between Hudson O’Neal, Mason Ziegler, and Chad Simpson. Owens closed an eight car-length gap between himself and Bloomquist to just two car-lengths as a caution came out on lap 26 for Jonathan Davenport.


On the ensuing restart, Bloomquist pulled away and O’Neal moved around Owens for second. Simpson, who started tenth, then moved into the third spot. Simpson then got around O’Neal for second before taking up the challenge of catching Bloomquist. Simpson managed to pull even with Bloomquist a few times in the final ten laps but could never get the momentum to clear him.


“The car was really good tonight, we have learned a lot of things about this track in the past and I think we might have finally solved some things. My daughter Ariel is here tonight. She asked me, ‘dad, are you ever going to win another race this year?’ We have had a lot of second place finishes. I told her I promise I am going to win another one,” said the winner in Lucas Oil Victory Lane.


“After that last caution I saw him [Simpson] down below there. I carried enough momentum there to keep him behind me. I kind of moved around a little bit and that helped. I did not want to block the bottom. Hopefully this is the start of a big weekend. I have never won the Show-Me here, so it would be nice to finally get that one here.”


Simpson posted an LOLMDS podium finish last week at Deer Creek Speedway in Minnesota and was happy with tonight’s run as well. “That last restart was really good for us. We keep gaining week after week. We ran well last weekend at Deer Creek against these guys. We have kept talking about changing things and we have finally hit on something. If Scott hadn’t moved down to the bottom, we could have had something for him. Great race for him. We’ve got a good race car. It’s a great start to the weekend, no doubt.”


O’Neal continues to make strides, recording his best career finish at Lucas Oil Speedway. “This is such a cool race track. Each time I come here, the racing keeps getting better. Hats off to Chad and Scott, they drove a heck of a race. I have a lot of guys behind me that do an amazing job,” said the driver of the Todd Burns-owned Dyno One, Sub-Surface of Indiana, Club 29 entry.


The winner’s Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and is sponsored by New Direction Ag, Reece Monument Company, Sweet Mfg., Sorbera Chiropractic, Penske Shocks, Valvoline, Crossfit by Overton, Petroff Towing, CatSpot, Horton Coal, and Go Lithium Batteries.


Completing the top ten were Jimmy Owens, Mason Ziegler, Jimmy Mars, Tim McCreadie, and Shanon Buckingham.


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release.  Photo Credit: Heath Lawson

Bloomquist Out-Duels Simpson at Cowboy Classic