PHENIX CITY, AL — Scott Bloomquist made the win look easy on Saturday night as he led all 60 laps at East Alabama Motor Speedway. The win was also his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season. The 53-year-old reigning series champion took the lead at the start of the main event and never looked back as he dominated the competition.


Jimmy Owens’ Ramirez Motorsports, E3 Spark Plugs, Rocket made a late-race charge while Bloomquist was negotiating heavy lapped traffic, but fell short at the checkers. Earl Pearson Jr., in his Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Racing TV, Longhorn Chassis, claimed third. Don O’Neal brought his brand-new Club 29 car home in fourth after starting 13th in the Clint Bowyer Racing entry. Tim McCreadie rounded out the top five finishers.


“It’s been so long since we’ve won a race this year, maybe they felt sorry for me,” joked Bloomquist after receiving several thunderous ovations from the huge crowd on hand. I think they did the right thing in watering the track before we went out. Everbody was going to go out there with a hard-right rear tire. I know some changed tires after they watered the track.”


“The car worked really well in the heat race. The car was a little tight at the start of the feature, but it really was working freely for most of the race. Every time you come here, there’s something a little different with the track surface.”


“The track was about as slippery as I have seen it. The Penske Shocks we had on worked perfectly. Thanks to Crop Production Services, Mark Martin, Mike Reece, Sweet Manufacturing, Base, Horton Coal, Sorbera Chiropractic, Petroff Towing, and Crossfit by Overton.”


Bloomquist took the lead at the start of the feature with Pearson running in second. Pearson stayed in second until Lanigan got by him on a lap 11 restart. Lanigan started to track down Bloomquist as the leader was encountering heavy traffic, but Lanigan slipped over the embankment in turn three and dropped to eighth place before he could recover and get back on the racing surface. Owens then moved to the second spot where he stayed the rest of the race.


Owens recorded his second straight podium finish of the weekend with this runner-up position. “He [Bloomquist] was just able to maneuver his car better around lapped traffic than I was. I got that clear track at the end but it was too late he was just too far out there. I want to thank all the fans for coming out tonight, it looked like a big crowd was here. We are looking forward to Duck River tomorrow night because the last time we were there, we ran terribly and I would like to make-up for that.”


Pearson was pleased with his second straight podium finish as well. “To come back tonight and have another strong finish says a lot about this race team. A win and a third against these guys, that’s tough to do. Carlton and Kemp Lamm were here tonight, and I would have liked to have won tonight for them, but we’ll take third and move onto Duck River.”


Completing the top ten were Steve Francis, Dennis Erb Jr., Darrell Lanigan, Jonathan Davenport, and Timothy Culp.


Feature Finish (60 Laps):

1 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $13,100
2 5 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $6,300
3 3 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $4,300
4 13 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $3,350
5 4 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $3,050
6 7 15 Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $2,500
7 9 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $2,200
8 2 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $2,000
9 6 49 Jonathan Davenport Williamson, SC $2,000
10 8 C8 Timothy Culp Prattsville, AR $1,100
11 12 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $1,875
12 14 44 Clint Smith Senoia, GA $1,050
13 15 18x Michael Page Villa Rica, GA $1,025
14 10 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,700
15 17 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $1,700
16 19 22 Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA $1,000
17 20 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $1,000
18 16 24 Zach Leonhardi Cartersville, GA $1,000
19 18 10 Ryan Crane Panama City, FL $1,000
20 21 91 Tod Darda LaGrange, GA $1,000
21 22 7F Jason Fitzgerald Middleburg, FL $1,000
22 11 1J Jason Hiett Oxford, AL $1,000


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release

-Photo Credit: Bell Helmets

Bloomquist Leads Them All in Lucas Oil LM Bama Bash