GREENWOOD, NE (July 19, 2014) – Scott Bloomquist led all 80 laps to win the Fourth Annual Silver Dollar Nationals on Saturday Night at I-80 Speedway. Bloomquist, in his Ole Smoky Moonshine, Sweet-Bloomquist Ford earned $30,000 for his first-ever victory in the event. Brian Birkhofer finished second, followed Jimmy Owens, Billy Moyer, and Jason Feger. The event was sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and the Lucas Oil Midwest Racing Association.

“We have run well all year long, but it has been frustrating the last month with all the second place finishes. Finally all the testing we’ve done has paid off. We had timing issues with the car yesterday, and seriously considered running the back-up, but the crew worked their tails off and got us out there. We were fortunate enough to start on the pole. The track was just tremendous. We could run anywhere on it. I didn’t want to see those last cautions,” said the winner, who recorded his 50th career LOLMDS win.

Bloomquist darted out to the lead with Jaosn Feger running in second. Bloomquist held the lead through traffic which was developing quickly after only 14 laps. The first caution came out on lap 38 when fifth-place running Ryan Gustin ended his night with a blown tire, putting him up against the turn two wall. Bloomquist then battled heavy traffic with less than 20 laps to go. Bloomquist’s lead started to shrink as both Birkhofer and Owens closed the gap on Bloomquist.

Birkhofer was closing in on the leader when back-to-back cautions came out with 14 laps to go. On the final restart Bloomquist pulled away from Birkhofer and headed to the finish line for his fourth series win of the year.

“Like I said before, we didn’t want those last couple of cautions. But the car restarted brilliantly and that was the difference. I have to thank Penske Shocks, Hawkeye Trucking, Base Fuels, Lucas Oil Products, and Andy Durham Racing Engines.”

Birkhofer, in his ASi Racewear, Cheap Cars, Rocket Chevrolet came up short in trying to become the first 2-time winner of the event. “No, I didn’t want to see those last cautions, because our car was better on the long runs. After those restarts, there was no way we could keep up with him [Bloomquist]. I was just trying to hold off Jimmy [Owens] for second. Once he [Bloomquist] cleared those three cars he had in front of him, it was pretty much over. I had fun racing these guys tonight and in front of this huge crowd! It was great to put on a show for the fans.”

Owens maintains the LOLMDS points lead and was in the hunt to win back-to-back Silver Dollar Nationals, but he had to settle for third. “We had a good car all night long. We were able to roll through the corners better than almost anybody. Birky and I raced hard, and it seemed like we were out there forever. He was up top and I was in the bottom to the middle. I really like this track. We could run anywhere on it and I am sure the fans saw a good show these last few nights.”

With his third place finish, and his recent wins at Lakeside Speedway Lucas Oil Speedway, Owens won the $1,000 Crawford Supply/Traeger Grills bonus for the most points earned in those three races.

Completing the top ten were Don O’Neal, Brandon Overton, Chad Simpson, Steve Francis, and Dennis Erb, Jr.

Amongst the 54 entrants, Steve Francis, Brandon Overton, Chad Simpson, Tommy Weder, and Billy Moyer won their respective first-round heat races. Jared Landers, Ryan Gustin, Jason Feger, Scott Bloomquist, and Jimmy Owens won their respective second-round heat races. Jeremy and John Anderson won their respective B-Mains. Tony Jackson Jr. won the Belt Bash Non-Qualifiers Race and elected not to take the $3,000 first prize, and start last in the main event.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on and

LODLMS PR & LODLMS Facebook photo

Bloomquist Haunts Dirt LM Racers in the Silver Dollar Nat’ls