BROWNSTOWN, IN  – Scott Bloomquist led 97 of the 100 laps on Saturday Night at Brownstown Speedway, winning his sixth career Jackson 100. He earned $20,000 for winning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event. Bloomquist passed Dennis Erb Jr. for the lead early in the race and was briefly challenged by Darrell Lanigan and Jimmy Owens.

Bloomquist’s Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Company, Mark Martin Automotive, Durham Racing Engines, Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis outran Owens, Lanigan, Tim McCreadie, and Chris Simpson for the win.

“The first few times we came here, we didn’t make the race, but gradually over time we got better. It’s completely different dirt than what we were winning on in the South at that time. The crowd has always been supportive of us up here and it’s a track you have to be smooth to drive on,” said the winner afterwards in Lucas Oil Victory Lane.

“The car was very good all night long; in the heat race it would handle anywhere on the track. When they went out and worked on the track before the main event, I am sure it helped us. Our car was able to maneuver the entire 100 laps without any difficulty. When we got into traffic late, it was still race-able.”

Bloomquist was challenged only on restarts by Lanigan and then by Owens as they were able to stay close to the 52-year-old Hall-of-Famer, seeking his third career LOLMDS title. As the race wore on with several long green flag runs, Bloomquist proved his dominance.

Owens was pleased with his runner-up finish. “We had a good car at Knoxville last week, but didn’t get the result we wanted to. This track has always been fun to race on and with the crowd on hand that they had tonight, it makes it ever better. I thought I had a good chance to stay with Scott; and we did for several laps; but a couple of times I skated up the track and that hurt our chances.”

Lanigan had one of his best finishes ever at Brownstown and felt that he had a strong car for the entire race. “We keep working on this piece and it just seems to get better and better. To come to Brownstown and run third with these guys tells us how far we have come. I’d like to give a big thanks to everybody at Clint Bowyer Racing and Georgia Boot for their support.”

Completing the Top Ten were: Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, Dustin Linville, Cody Mahoney, and Hudson O’Neal.

In preliminary action, Steve Francis set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 42 entrants, with a lap of 13.219 seconds. Cody Mahoney set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.535 seconds. Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, Darrell Lanigan, and Scott Bloomquist won their respective heat races. Devin Gilpin and Michael Chilton won their respective B-Mains.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, September 24th, 2016
37th Annual Jackson 100
Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Steve Francis / 13.219 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Cody Mahoney / 13.535 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Dennis Erb, Jr., Steve Francis, Brandon Sheppard, Jonathan Davenport, Hudson O’Neal, Devin Gilpin, Steve Barnett, Raymond Humphrey, Colton Flinner, Matt Bex, Shelby Miles-DNS

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, Steve Casebolt, Jared Bailey, Dustin Nobbe, Tyler Erb, Adam Bowman, Greg Amick, Jesse Lay, Geraid Gault-DNS

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Darrell Lanigan, Cody Mahoney, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chad Stapleton, Jason Jameson, Michael Chilton, Joe Godsey, Scott James, Alan Magner, Nathan Vawter, Skyller Lewis-DNS

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Tim McCreadie, Chris Simpson, Dustin Linville, Greg Johnson, Kent Robinson, Brandon Kinzer, Jeremy Hines, Tim Tungate, Zak Blackwood

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Devin Gilpin, Hudson O’Neal, Tyler Erb, Adam Bowman, Steve Barnett, Greg Amick, Raymond Humphrey, Jesse Lay, Dustin Nobbe, Colton Flinner, Matt Bex-DNS, Shelby Miles-DNS, Geraid Gault-DNS

Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Michael Chilton, Greg Johnson, Kent Robinson, Tim Tungate, Brandon Kinzer, Alan Magner, Scott James, Jeremy Hines, Zak Blackwood, Nathan Vawter, Joe Godsey, Jason Jameson, Skyller Lewis-DNS

Feature Finish (100 Laps):

1 4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $20,900
2 7 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $10,800
3 2 15 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $6,700
4 8 39m Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $4,700
5 12 32 Chris Simpson Oxford, IA $3,500
6 1 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $3,200
7 3 5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN $2,900
8 16 D8 Dustin Linville Lancaster, KY $2,000
9 6 4 Cody Mahoney Hanover, IN $1,800
10 19 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $1,750
11 5 15F Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $2,450
12 10 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $2,400
13 11 C9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN $1,550
14 13 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC $2,500
15 21 91 Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $1,450
16 23 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $1,500
17 18 97 Michael Chilton Salvisa, KY $1,350
18 24 5N Dustin Nobbe Batesville, IN $1,300
19 22 7R Kent Robinson Bloomington, IN $1,250
20 15 24 Jared Bailey Bedford, IN $1,200
21 9 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $1,900
22 17 1G Devin Gilpin Columbus, IN $1,200
23 14 14 Chad Stapleton Edinburgh, IN $1,200
24 20 88 Greg Johnson Bedford, IN $1,200
25 25 14V Joe Godsey Edinburgh, IN $1,200

Race Statistics
Entrants: 42
Lap Leaders: Dennis Erb Jr. (Laps 1 – 2); Scott Bloomquist (Laps 3 – 100)
Cautions: Lap 5 (Debris); Greg Johnson (Lap 20); Chad Stapleton (Lap 27); Brandon Sheppard (Lap 39)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Colton Flinner
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisional: Dustin Nobbe
Brownstown Speedway Track Provisional: Joe Godsey
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Hudson O’Neal (Started: 19th; Finished: 10th; Advanced 9 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Scott Bloomquist
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Tim McCreadie
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Colton Flinner
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Andy Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jeff Strope (Jimmy Owens)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #4 – 14.4470 seconds)
Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist
PFC Brakes Tough Brake Award: Brandon Sheppard
Time of Race: 39 minutes 57 seconds


-LOLMDS Press Release.  Photo Credit: Heath Lawson Photo

Bloomquist Dominates the Jackson 100 at Brownstown