For the season ending race at the Sandusky Speedway D&H Transport Services Cavalcade, the 30 lap Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint feature was won by six time AVSS champion Jason Blonde in the Bingham Farms/Sweet Manufacturing #42. Aaron Pierce in the Sam Pierce Chevrolet sponsored #26 won Hamilton Trucking Fast Time award in qualifying with a lap time of 14.371 seconds around the famed half-mile. JoJo Helberg in the #71 Tim Coffey Plumbing and Heating car won the first heat race while Kevin Feeney in the #61 Marv Carman Motorsports car won the second heat for the “World’s Fastest Short Track Racecars”.


The AVSS feature was paced by Brian Gibbs’ #67 and Frank Neill’s #88, both owned by Neill Family Racing. Neill would get the jump on Gibbs at the line but Jason Blonde from the fourth starting position came around Neill by turn three. However it would be for naught as the #11x of Tom Paterson would come to a stop high in turn one bringing out the lone caution flag of the thirty lap affair. Paterson would be towed off the track surface, done for the evening. At this juncture of the race, Indy car veteran Davey Hamilton Sr. would give up his third starting position to go to the tail of the pack with handling woes with the #1 BioBased.US sponsored machine. Gibbs, Neill, Kevin Feeney, Blonde, and JoJo Helberg would be the top five for the restart.


Blonde would continue where he left off before the caution, passing everyone in his path to the front by the completion of lap one. Davey Hamilton Jr. in the #60 sprinter would pass six cars on lap one to take the fifth running position. Helberg would take third from Feeney on lap four, followed by a hard charging Davey Hamilton Jr. who started scratch. Helberg would go around outside polesitter Frank Neill for second on lap five, followed by Hamilton Jr. and Ryan Litt in the #07 taking third and fourth from Neill on lap seven. Neill would continue his downward spiral on lap ten when fast qualifier Aaron Pierce would steal the fifth spot followed by MSA supermodified competitor Kyle Edwards taking the sixth spot. JoJo Helberg and Davey Hamilton Jr. would do everything possible to get the lead in the last twenty laps of the race, but in the end, newly crowned 2014 Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint champion Jason Blonde would take his first feature win of the 2014 race season in the season finale at the Sandusky Speedway. Helberg, Hamilton Jr, Ryan Litt, and defending race winner Aaron Pierce would round out the top five, while Edwards, outside polesitter Frank Neill, Kevin Feeney, Kevin Mingus, and Don Hamilton would round out the field.


-Auto Value Super Sprint Press Release. Photo Credit: Auto Value Super Sprint.


1)42-Jason Blonde, 2)71-JoJo Helberg, 3)60-Davey Hamilton Jr., 4)07-Ryan Litt, 5)26-Aaron Pierce, 6)11-Kyle Edwards, 7)88-Frank Neill, 8)61-Kevin Feeney, 9)87-Kevin Mingus, 10)31-Don Hamilton, 11)44-Teddy Alberts, 12)44-Teddy Alberts, 13)1-Davey Hamilton Sr., 14)11x-Tom Paterson​

Blonde Was Super in Sandusky